Skip to main content

Information About James - Hemel Hempstead tutor -

Profile Picture

James's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated James:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for James

Personal Description:

30-minutes= £30. 1 hour+ = £70ph
I work with Science and Maths high achievers who need small amounts of guidance and accountability on a regular basis. I've found these students work best with short and snappy sessions, hence why I offer a discounted rate for 30-minute sessions! 30 minute sessions are also way more fun!

If unsure, get in touch. I'm confident I can help you, but please drop me a message and let me know what you're looking for. We can see if we can arrange something that suits your situation :)

Thank you for taking the time to check out my FirstTutors profile. If you are a parent, I bet you have your work cut out for you investigating possible tutors! If you're a student finding yourself a tutor, that definitely still holds!

Still reading? Here's my personal track record:

In 2010, aged 16, I took my GCSEs and achieved 10 A/A* grades. In 2012, I took four A Levels in Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths and achieved A*A*A*A*! I was extremely proud to be the highest achieving student in my year- my confidence skyrocketed and I'd go so far as to say my life has taken a different trajectory since!

Following my A levels, I moved to Cambridge to start a Bachelors Degree in Natural Sciences. I focused in the subject areas of Molecular Biology and Genetics and I graduated from Cambridge in 2015 with a 2.1!

Tutoring Experience:

Since graduating, I have been working full time as a private tutor for students sitting GCSE and A Level exams in Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics, both in person and online! My personal highlight for 2017 has been helping motivated students achieve A*A*A*A* and get to Oxbridge!

Tutoring Approach:

My goal with tuition is always to push your son or daughter to get an A or an A* (or equivalent). I don't believe in aiming for anything less! A and A* grades are absolutely achievable for any student who has the right tools, support and a genuine commitment to improving their grade.

I encourage students to come to lessons with specific points they need help with! This is the most effective use of our time.

My priority is always first to ensure that the student understands the theory behind a topic and then that the student is able to answers exam questions using their new understanding. If I am unable to answer a student's question, I make it clear that I am unsure and will investigate the question before the next lesson.

For short (30 minute) sessions. I like to provide you with web-links and printed resources to follow up with in your spare time. This is because I am assuming you actually want to learn, but you need direction! These sessions aren't good if you need me to hold your hand through every step of every problem.

FAQ:
"Can you travel to my home?"
- At the moment… I only offer most lessons in person at my home and online.

"Where are lessons conducted?"
- FirstTutors will give you my address if you agree to a tuition arrangement with me. Online lessons are taught through Skype and the use of online-whiteboard technology. If you really aren't interested in online tuition, I teach 1-1 lessons at a dining table at my home. This is a quiet environment with very few distractions.

"What are our payment options?"
- Online lessons can be paid for by Paypal or Bank Transfer. I'm happy to discuss a reduced rate for block lesson payments! Payment by cash at the start of the lesson is preferred for in-person lessons.

"What if I have to cancel a lesson?"
I understand you may sometimes need to reschedule or cancel lessons. That said, I have a lot of students and cannot handle too many student's changing their plans! I keep a note of how frequently you do this and I will notify you if it becomes a problem (3rd short notice cancellation in a short period will likely incur a charge).

For same day non-medical cancellations and no-shows.
Not cool… Please don't do this :(

"What if I am late for a lesson?"
Lessons start and end promptly on the hour or at half past the hour. To be fair to all my students, I can't run over.

I'm excited to hearing from you! Please get in touch if you have any questions!

James

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge, UK (2015) - 2.1 BA Natural Sciences (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • English International College (Abroad, Spain) (2012) - A*A*A*A* Bio, Chem, Maths, Phys (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • English International College (Abroad, Spain) (2010) - 10 A/A* Inc. Maths, Chem, Phys (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Hemel Hempstead Maths tutor, Hemel Hempstead Physics tutor, Hemel Hempstead Chemistry tutor, Hemel Hempstead Biology tutor, Hemel Hempstead Secondary Maths tutor, Hemel Hempstead GCSE Maths tutor, Hemel Hempstead A-Level Maths tutor, Hemel Hempstead Casual Learner Maths tutor, Hemel Hempstead Secondary Physics tutor, Hemel Hempstead GCSE Physics tutor, Hemel Hempstead A-Level Physics tutor, Hemel Hempstead Casual Learner Physics tutor, Hemel Hempstead Secondary Chemistry tutor, Hemel Hempstead GCSE Chemistry tutor, Hemel Hempstead A-Level Chemistry tutor, Hemel Hempstead Casual Learner Chemistry tutor, Hemel Hempstead Secondary Biology tutor, Hemel Hempstead GCSE Biology tutor, Hemel Hempstead A-Level Biology tutor, Hemel Hempstead Casual Learner Biology tutor