Information About Jake - Leeds tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Jake's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Jake:





Subjects Taught

Jake offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£25.50
Secondary £30.00£25.50
GCSE £30.00£25.50
A-Level £35.00£29.75


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£25.50
Secondary £30.00£25.50
GCSE £30.00£25.50
A-Level £35.00£29.75

Map Location

Map for Jake (Mr)


Personal Description:

After graduating from Cambridge in 2013 I have worked as a research scientist developing high performance materials and as a software developer for the world's leading market research agency. Despite these being fulfilling jobs I found the tutoring I was doing alongside them more rewarding and have recently begun tutoring full time.

Through the 7 years I spent studying maths and physics, particularly through my degree, I spent a lot of time considering what makes a good teacher and use this to inform my teaching style. My working life has also required me to understand and explain complex concepts, which has also improved my tutoring.

Tutoring Experience:

I began teaching while at school, running homework clubs for younger students and acting as a maths teaching assistant at a local primary school. Progressing to university, I found an outlet for my interest in discussing science and maths by writing for several university publications, in addition to some casual tutoring when I returned to my home town of Leeds. I was a member of the CHaOS roadtrip ( which aimed to introduce science to children in fun and engaging ways. When I graduated I started tutoring formally in regular, weekly sessions which has allowed me to develop and refine my teaching style. I have also spent the last year doing some charity work with the Access Project ( which provides free, high-quality tutors to underprivileged children.

Tutoring Approach:

Having made my way through 22 years of formal education, right up to a Masters from Cambridge, I have thought a great deal about teaching and learning. It's clear that an individualised approach is essential and that I as a teacher must be adaptable to each student's needs. Multiple approaches are often useful for finding the most accessible for the student. My style is interactive, because it is all too easy to nod along (and even believe you know something!) until you have to do it for yourself.

I strongly believe in the use of examples, demonstrated by both the teacher and student, to really cement the understanding of the subject. It is very common for me to bring past paper questions to the lessons for us to go through together. This provides both revision of the subject matter and also practice with the art of exam technique.

I am also keen to emphasise that I try to offer moral support as well as academic. Exam periods can be a stressful and challenging time in a young person's life and so I like to make sure that my students are happy and comfortable with everything that is happening, as well as successful.


  • Cambridge University (2013) - MSci (Hons) Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge University (2013) - MA (Hons) Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Garforth Community College (2009) - A Levels: Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Chemistry (College) (✔ On File)
  • Garforth Community College (2007) - GCSE's: 10 A* grades (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leeds Maths tutor, Leeds Physics tutor, Leeds Primary Maths tutor, Leeds Secondary Maths tutor, Leeds GCSE Maths tutor, Leeds A-Level Maths tutor, Leeds Primary Physics tutor, Leeds Secondary Physics tutor, Leeds GCSE Physics tutor, Leeds A-Level Physics tutor