Skip to main content

Information About Jack - Cramlington tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Jack's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Jack:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £25.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £28.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £28.00

Geography

Hourly Rate
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £28.00

Map Location

Map for Jack (Mx)

Share

Personal Description:

Tutored (20+ hours/week) full-time in Cambridge from Jan. to June 2016.
Science has, and continues to, play a key role in my questioning and understanding of the world we live in. I graduated from UEA with a 4-year Ecology BSc. I then moved to Spain where I taught guests about agriculture in a semi-arid environment. I then taught EFL in Korea and Mexico before beginning my training as a science teacher in the UK. For this I studied for 2 years: 1 year Advanced Chemistry Diploma (as my degree is technically considered a Biology, even though it contained a significant Chemistry component) and 1 year PGCE Secondary Chemistry.
My 3 month placement was in a comprehensive and my 6 month in a sixth-form college.

Tutoring Experience:

Tutored 20+ hours/week of Chemistry, Biology and Maths for 6 months in the Cambridge area.
9 months teaching science in a high school and sixth-form college during my PGCE.
3 months teaching sustainable building and waste management in Venezuela.
5 months teaching EFL in Mexico.
14 months teaching EFL in Korea.
5 months teaching ecology and environmental science in Spain.

Tutoring Approach:

Students struggling with subjects can be guided through questioning. If a question is too challenging more questions can be asked, and information supplied along the way, until the student can answer the original question.
They need to right down the answers to these questions, whilst being told they are right and of course praised.
I provide the necessary questions, worksheets and explanations, whilst the students provide the answers and make the notes. I typically spend an hour preparing for each hour session.
In order to get the most out of tuition, I would expect a commitment of the student to additional work of at least the same time as the tuition period again. I will always leave the student with work to do for the next session.
Regular sessions, of 1 - 1.5 hours I believe are best.

Qualifications:

  • Sunderland University (2013) - Secondary Chemistry (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • UEA (2007) - Ecology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cramlington Maths tutor, Cramlington Chemistry tutor, Cramlington Biology tutor, Cramlington Geography tutor, Cramlington Secondary Maths tutor, Cramlington GCSE Maths tutor, Cramlington Secondary Chemistry tutor, Cramlington GCSE Chemistry tutor, Cramlington A-Level Chemistry tutor, Cramlington Secondary Biology tutor, Cramlington GCSE Biology tutor, Cramlington A-Level Biology tutor, Cramlington Secondary Geography tutor, Cramlington GCSE Geography tutor, Cramlington A-Level Geography tutor