Skip to main content

Information About Isobel - Tewkesbury tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Isobel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Isobel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£27.00
Secondary £30.00£27.00
GCSE £30.00£27.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £35.00£31.50
13 Plus £35.00£31.50
14 Plus £35.00£31.50

Special Needs

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00£31.50
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £35.00£31.50
University £30.00£27.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£27.00
Secondary £30.00£27.00
GCSE £30.00£27.00
University £30.00£27.00
Casual Learner £30.00£27.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £9.99£8.99
Secondary £9.99£8.99
GCSE £9.99£8.99
University £20.00£18.00

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00£13.50
Secondary £15.00£13.50
GCSE £15.00£13.50
A-Level £20.00£18.00
Casual Learner £20.00£18.00

Map Location

Map for Isobel (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a qualified and experienced teacher living near Cheltenham. I am a home tutor for school children and foreign students studying English. I can help with schoolwork and am experienced in tutoring for 11 plus and school entrance exams. i can also cater for the new curriculum. I have taught English at my local private language school and further education college. I have 14 years teaching experience from working both in England and abroad.
I also teach TESOL, I can help foreign students improve their language ability for work, exams or general day to day English. I have taught all sorts of different nationalities from beginner to advanced and enjoy teaching any level.

Tutoring Experience:

I currently home tutor children at KS2/KS3/GCSE /11+ and Verbal reasoning for school entrance exams. I have done this professionally and successfully for the last few years.
I've found my tutees confidence improve dramatically within weeks and as a result their grades and ultimately exam success have rocketed.
All of my students have improved at school and some have been moved into higher classes as a result.
I have also taught English in Italy, Spain and Japan. I have experience with children and teenagers both at summer school in England and abroad. I can teach English for special purposes, Exam preparation classes and Business English.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to create lessons that are suited to the student and work closely with the student/parent and school, where possible, to make the lessons relevant and interesting. Once I have done an initial free evaluation with my tutee and parent I can make a unique study plan that guides us through our studies. I can adapt that where necessary, but generally find student respond really well to my approach. I can make scary topics like grammar and algebra seem less daunting and easier to understand.
I am creative in making the lessons fun and engaging by focusing on subjects and topics that the student is interested in. I look at areas where the student could use some extra attention such as vocabulary or grammar and will then focus on that in the next lesson until I feel the student is ready to move on.

As well as fixing gaps in knowledge I try to work ahead of schoolwork in order to give the student knowledge and confidence in class.

I can tailor the lessons to suit any level, age or nationality effectively. I make lessons relevant to the student, by avoiding language that is already known and focusing on an area that is useful students find they can progress quickly in my lessons.

I specialise in Exam preparation, If you need help with GCSE/11+ or PET/FCE/IELTS then I can tailor make lessons to diagnose weak areas and strengthen them, practice Exam skills and make you or your child feel confident in taking the Exam.

Qualifications:

  • City and Guilds (2011) - City and Guilds ESOL examiner (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • The University of Gloucestershire (2007) - BA Hons Degree 2:1 - Film with Media Communications - The University of Gloucestershire (2007) (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Next training Barcelona (2000) - TEFL Trinty (B) - Barcelona Next Training (2001) (Other) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Italian, Japanese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Tewkesbury English tutor, Tewkesbury Entrance Exams tutor, Tewkesbury Special Needs tutor, Tewkesbury English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tewkesbury Media / Communication Studies tutor, Tewkesbury Study Skills tutor, Tewkesbury Primary English tutor, Tewkesbury Secondary English tutor, Tewkesbury GCSE English tutor, Tewkesbury Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Tewkesbury Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Tewkesbury GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Tewkesbury Primary Special Needs tutor, Tewkesbury Secondary Special Needs tutor, Tewkesbury GCSE Special Needs tutor, Tewkesbury University Special Needs tutor, Tewkesbury Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tewkesbury Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tewkesbury GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tewkesbury University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tewkesbury Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tewkesbury Primary Media / Communication Studies tutor, Tewkesbury Secondary Media / Communication Studies tutor, Tewkesbury GCSE Media / Communication Studies tutor, Tewkesbury University Media / Communication Studies tutor, Tewkesbury Primary Study Skills tutor, Tewkesbury Secondary Study Skills tutor, Tewkesbury GCSE Study Skills tutor, Tewkesbury A-Level Study Skills tutor, Tewkesbury Casual Learner Study Skills tutor