Skip to main content

Information About Imogen - Derby tutor -
(13 reviews)

Profile Picture

Imogen's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Imogen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £17.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £22.50
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £17.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £17.00
13 Plus £20.00
14 Plus £22.50

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £17.00

Map Location

Map for Imogen (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have a BSc from Durham University in Maths and a Phd from Derby in Control of Chaos. I have been teaching on and off for about seventeen years, and enjoy both working with younger children and the more challenging work for older ones.

I currently work free lance.

Tutoring Experience:

I started teaching in 1997, and have taught infants, juniors, secondary, GCSE, A-Level and University Level, including in primary schools, Derby University and the Open University.

I work free-lance, with venue negotiable, sometimes in the student's home, sometimes in my home, and sometimes in an appropriate public venue.

Tutoring Approach:

I mainly seek to fill in the gaps in students' knowledge, though I have also been the main Maths tutor for a home-schooled teenager.

For GCSE and A-Level students I very much focus on going through past papers so that they get the feel for what the exam will be like, and then we can also give extra attention to any area of difficulty.

For younger students, I use a combination of finding out what the student has been doing at school, offering further help in that if required, and working through topics that the student is weak on, or starting new topics. I have a range o**Contact Detail Removed**s that follow the National Curriculum.

Qualifications:

  • Derby University (2003) - PhD in Control of Chaos (Derby University) (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Durham University (1994) - BSc in Maths (Durham University) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • ABRSM (1993) - Grade 8 Organ Distinction (Other) (✔ On File)
  • ABRSM (1992) - Grade 5 Music Theory Distinction (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Derby Maths tutor, Derby English tutor, Derby Entrance Exams tutor, Derby Music tutor, Derby Primary Maths tutor, Derby Secondary Maths tutor, Derby GCSE Maths tutor, Derby A-Level Maths tutor, Derby University Maths tutor, Derby Casual Learner Maths tutor, Derby Primary English tutor, Derby Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Derby Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Derby GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Derby Primary Music tutor