Information About Ian - Sherborne tutor

Profile Picture

Ian's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Ian:





Subjects Taught

Ian offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Map Location

Map for Ian (Mr)


Personal Description:

I have been teaching Maths in large independent secondary schools in Kent for 40 years, and have recently retired to Dorset. I have also written a series of revision guides for the IB in conjunction with Oxford Study Courses, with whom I have also taught on holiday revision courses. I have also been engaged in IT training for adults in schools and in business.

I live in Sherborne with my wife and dog. I have three children, now scattered around the country.

Tutoring Experience:

Throughout my teaching career I have tutored one-to-one. Particularly in Maths, a great deal more can be achieved in an hour working with one person than is possible in the classroom, and I have always found it satisfying to be able to make such a difference in such a short time. Maths is such an important subject to grasp, and I hope that I can make a difference to those that I tutor - both in their understanding and their enjoyment of the subject. Northwest Kent has a large number of state and independent schools, so I have taught pupils from a wide range of schools, and always on personal recommendation - I can provide many personal recommendations from tutees and their parents. But I am only happy to take on pupils who are themselves keen for help, and are clear that they want to succeed.

Tutoring Approach:

I have no set structure for tutoring - everyone's needs are different. However, I think it a good idea to start by arranging an initial meeting (no charge, of course) to discover the particular issues and devise an action plan. This could be just a few sessions to resolve particular problems, followed by ad hoc sessions as required; or an intensive set of lessons in preparation for an exam; or help filling in gaps after a period of illness; or just a couple of lessons to boost confidence. In general, my preference is to help pupils prepare for exams (GCSE, A-Level or IB), so likely to be in Year 10 upwards.

As far as session content is concerned, clearly some of it involves teaching and explanation; but pupils must be prepared to work through problems with me watching their every move (daunting!) so I can quickly identify where they are going wrong, or where misunderstanding is occurring. Sometimes, just putting one detail right unlocks a whole area of Maths that was proving problematical - and Maths is as much about the detail as the overall picture. Above all, I want pupils to feel good at the end of each session - they should have enjoyed the experience, and feel buoyed up by their success.


  • Manchester University (1976) - CertEd (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Manchester University (1975) - BSc (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Sherborne Maths tutor, Sherborne GCSE Maths tutor, Sherborne A-Level Maths tutor