Skip to main content

Information About Holly - Sleaford tutor -
(1 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Holly:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
A-Level £18.00
University £18.00
Casual Learner £18.00

Map Location

Map for Holly (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a native English speaker currently living in the UK who enjoys the challenges of private tutoring. I have had a great deal of teaching experience as well as experience of living in other countries and in other cultures. My teaching in the UK has meant I have come into contact with students from over 60 different countries so am aware of the variety of needs and support required to help develop English skills.

My specialism is Academic English and the related study skills.

Tutoring Experience:

To date, I have had 14 years’ experience as a teacher in English for Academic Purposes (EAP), English for Specific Academic Purposes (ESAP), English for Specific Purposes (ESP) and English as a Foreign Language (EFL) and have worked in China, Thailand, Mexico, Portugal and the UK which has provided me with opportunities to work with many different nationalities, including Chinese, Arabic and European students. I have extensive knowledge of International Higher Education and, along with experience of managing teams of tutors as well as teaching a variety of levels within an HE context.

I have also taught Business English, English as an Additional Language and exam preparation classes (e.g. Cambridge Proficiency, First Certificate, BEC). I have also trained teachers to support pupils who have English as an Additional Language. I have written and run my own Business English course for adults working with English clients in Portugal which included initial and final assessments of English levels. I have worked with pupils and students of all age ranges. I have had experience of giving private tuition in EFL and have a collection of resources and materials that can be used with all ages and abilities. I have also completed the IELTS examining course meaning I am a qualified IELTS examiner and am aware of the academic and general English skills required for that examination.

I am currently teaching at the University of Lincoln where I am a Senior Tutor in English for Academic Purposes.

Tutoring Approach:

I feel that individual tutoring is an appropriate way to advance levels in English as an Foreign Language and can be an effective tool for preparing for any examinations.

Having individual tuition is beneficial as work/materials can be tailored to suit specific needs. I believe that a private tutor needs to be flexible and adaptable, supportive with defined aims and targets and able to make lessons interesting and relevant to a student's needs.

Qualifications:

  • Bath Spa University (2002) - Qualified Teacher Status (UK) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Bath Spa University (2001) - Double Degree in English and International Education with TEFL Diploma (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Hogeschool of Rotterdam and Omstreken (2001) - ESOL/EFL/EAL Teacher (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Sleaford English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sleaford A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sleaford University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sleaford Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor