Skip to main content

Information About Helen - Andover tutor -

Profile Picture

Helen's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Helen:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £27.00
Secondary £28.00
Casual Learner £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £27.00
Secondary £28.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £27.00
Secondary £28.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Primary £27.00
Secondary £28.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a fun lively person. I am married to a wonderful man who was willing to come into my life to be a husband and a father to six boys. We have a dog who believes he is the 7th boy!!

I love camping and going for walks along coastal paths as well as cross country.
I am a singer and sing solo pieces for weddings as well as regularly singing in my worship group at **Removed By Admin** in Andover and a small local choir. I have worked hard to improve the range of styles of music I am able to sing. I have also led a small choir at my church, teaching and developing their skills as singers. It was these adult learners, some who were retired teachers themselves, who commented on how, "encouraging and positive" I was as a teacher, and how I "explained new terms clearly without being patronising". A great compliment from fellow professionals!

As a parent of boys with range of SEN issues,(dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism and adhd), I have a wide range of experience relating to the challenges of special education needs and the impact on teaching, learning and home life. We are very proud of the way each has found ways to overcome their particular challenges and are often able to encourage parents with younger families.

Eventually I want to work as a dyslexia teacher.

I am an encouraging and patient teacher and develop good relationships with my pupils. I adapt teaching approaches to suit individual pupils to enable them to engage with the learning in a positive and supportive way. Children say they like my lessons and enjoy being tutored by me.

If you home-school your child I can provide tutoring in a specific subject area to fit around your timetable and in the way your child prefers to learn.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for 5 years in the primary age range in state primary schools. This was followed by a total of 18 months supply teaching whilst recovering from my slipped disc injuries.

In addition to this I have been privately tutoring for 8 years across key aspects of literacy and maths.

My current experience of tutoring is from a 5 year old boy with Aspberger, working closely with his parents to develop learning activities to encourage and model play talk and working with a partner. My oldest pupil is now getting ready for her GCSE's. I support her in English Literature as she has Dyslexia and finds processing and rewording phrases from the books being studied very difficult. We are developing a consistent pattern to use to answers questions and include quotes.

Tutoring Approach:

My overall approach towards tutoring is to encourage, to build confidence and self-esteem, raise levels of attainment through carrying out assessment tasks and setting specific objectives, to equip your child with the necessary skills and knowledge to enable them to become more Independent in their learning at school.

I treat each child as an individual, taking into account the views of parents and pupil as well as discussing their individual needs. I use information from school such as learning targets to help inform how best to provide support to achieve individual goals.

Through an initial consultation I discuss with yourselves and your child the reasons for tutoring and plan suitable objectives to enable your child to make progress in the area of learning identified. Sometimes it is necessary to carry out some assessment tasks in order to determine their current ability and discuss the outcome with you using assessment guidelines produced by the DfE.

With parents and pupils permission, I like to make contact with their class teacher to work with them in identifying specific areas of learning and plan appropriate support in line with any extra provision already being carried out.

For maths and spelling support I ask that parents ensure their child has regular daily short homework sessions to practice the skills taught in the session. I find that this approach gives the maximum benefit for all concerned.

I use the synthetic phonics approach in teaching spelling and reading from the beginning stages in year 1 and have also adapted teaching the phonic approach to support pupils in KS2 and beyond.

I use practical and visual aids to support maths tuition depending on each individual pupil and their learning requirements.

The greatest difference I make to my pupils is the increase in their confidence resulting from being able to complete tasks they had previously been unable to, which in turn enables them to be more willing to take part in whole class sessions at school. Your child will see themselves as a successful learner which improves their overall self esteem.

I have had direct feedback from some teachers of my pupils remarking on the improvement in attitude towards learning of the pupils I have tutored.

I am able to support your child through the transition into secondary school, providing practical ideas to help yourself and them to get ready and provide support during the first term by helping them to develop new routines within the school, strategies to help ensure they get homework details and any handouts are not thrown into the bottom if their bag and any other issues they are finding difficult to cope with.

I tutor pupils through secondary education in English and English literature. This focuses on various skills to improve writing such as; clearly defined paragraphs, improving vocabulary choices, clear structure and linking ideas within their writing, supporting interpreting poetry and other aspects of English literature.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • King Alfred's College Winchester (2008) - BA Primary Education with English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • King Alfreds College, Winchester (2007) - Qualified Teacjher Status (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • king Alreds College, Winchester (2005) - CRB Enhanced Disclosure (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Crick ladle College Andover (1999) - A Level English Literature (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Andover Maths tutor, Andover English tutor, Andover Special Needs tutor, Andover Study Skills tutor, Andover Primary Maths tutor, Andover Secondary Maths tutor, Andover Casual Learner Maths tutor, Andover Primary English tutor, Andover Secondary English tutor, Andover GCSE English tutor, Andover Casual Learner English tutor, Andover Primary Special Needs tutor, Andover Secondary Special Needs tutor, Andover GCSE Special Needs tutor, Andover Casual Learner Special Needs tutor, Andover Primary Study Skills tutor, Andover Secondary Study Skills tutor, Andover GCSE Study Skills tutor, Andover Casual Learner Study Skills tutor