Skip to main content

Information About Ian - Plymouth tutor -
(33 reviews)

Profile Picture

Ian's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ian:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Ian offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Ian (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

An experienced & professional home tutor. I have been teaching in and around the Plymouth area since 2010. It has become a full time occupation for me, one I've come to enjoy & relish. My enthusiastic delivery has earned me some great feedback over the years and I am always trying to improve!

I would describe my teaching style as accessible & down to earth. I pride myself on providing explanations that humans can understand - only introducing the more formal terminology as a lesson progresses. I have always yearned to understand material from the most fundamental of concepts. For me, it is much more exhilarating to show a student how the complexity comes about from some simple and powerful core ideas, as opposed to simply citing the results your expected to know & use. If you can see the whole picture, and appreciate in its entirety, then you will feel a lot more confident for it.

My hobbies include programming, photography or just a great book I've stumbled across. I continue to read physics often in my own time, running through problems that are insightful (love physics!). I also enjoy mountain biking - you'll often find me cycling the coast line, or getting lost somewhere on the moors. I like to relax/exercise at the gym - keeping fit keeps me happy & productive. I use to play basketball pretty seriously as well, but I just play casually every week now… Travel Details … –––––––––––
If I'm travelling to you, I'll charge 75 pence / mile. I currently live in the PL4 postcode area and I am happy to travel up to 10 miles.

If your travelling to me, there are no extra travel costs. I've got a lovely desk, a clean room and plenty of books nearby. I've redecorated with my students in mind, to provide the best learning environment possible… Tutoring Details … –––––––––––
I allow for a short meeting prior to the first lesson. This'll typically be 15-20 minutes that'll allow you to ask me any questions prior to starting. It also gives me the opportunity to get up to date with where you are with your studies, what grades you'd like to achieve - and how to approach the first few lessons.

If you're looking for a little security, I currently hold an Enhanced DBS Check. I can also supply references on request, as well as present my degree certificate.

I do sometimes record tutorials with a live-scribe pen & paper. This produces an interactive PDF file which you can view back and witness the lesson (or parts of it) all over again! Please let me know if this is something you are interested in.

Typically I will provide numerous learning aids, in addition to the tutorials themselves. This may include revision notes, past exam papers, targeted exercise worksheets or sometimes, my own personal notes on a subject. I can offer advice on exams, self-study or anything else you may have on your mind.

Tutoring Experience:

I've been teaching privately since I graduated in 2010. I've taught hundreds of students since then - both in mathematics & physics, and across all levels of education - KS3, GCSE, A-Level and occasionally university.

I've also been working increasingly with Plymstock School over the past two years. They've entrusted me to tutor as part of there 'pupil premium scheme', which gives a little extra help to the GCSE mathematics students who could really use it.

Tutoring Approach:

I am very approachable, patient and open minded with my tutoring. I encourage participation where appropriate and am keen on students getting questions done within their own time. I motivate students by being positive and encouraging them in every way possible. Ultimately, grades will open doors for you, so a keen attention to whatever syllabus you are studying for is essential.

Typically I'll be doing one of three things in lessons, teaching (!), going through exercises or working on exam technique. Teaching will involve the use of illustrations, equations, discussion and development. I'll work through one or two exercises following a discussion, encouraging participation as I do so, and then challenge the student to do some exercises independently, giving help and advice as needed. Exam technique is essential for students to achieve the grades they are capable of. Exam technique involves developing knowledge of the syllabus and mark scheme, relating it to your understanding, and gaining practice reiterating / expressing yourself in exam conditions using the correct language and hitting key points.

I will normally suggest some relevant questions targeted at the material covered in a lesson. This allows a student to demonstrate and reinforce the understanding they developed within the lessons themselves. I will then review the students work, and give feedback and advice where relevant. This constant cycle of learning, independently working and evaluating leads to the very best use of your time in lessons.

Qualifications:

  • University of Bristol (2010) - MSci Maths and Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Plymouth Maths tutor, Plymouth Physics tutor, Plymouth Primary Maths tutor, Plymouth Secondary Maths tutor, Plymouth GCSE Maths tutor, Plymouth A-Level Maths tutor, Plymouth University Maths tutor, Plymouth Casual Learner Maths tutor, Plymouth Primary Physics tutor, Plymouth Secondary Physics tutor, Plymouth GCSE Physics tutor, Plymouth A-Level Physics tutor, Plymouth University Physics tutor, Plymouth Casual Learner Physics tutor