Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Giovanna

Giovanna

Online Maths and Italian Tuition

Hello! My name is Giovanna. I was born and raised in Italy. When I was 19 I left home to study first in the United States (California) and then in the UK (London). I am currently working on my PhD. I enjoy tutoring people of all ages and backgrounds and believe this work enriches both myself and my students. I learnt about languages, cultures, history, and art from all over the world and am passionate about passing on my knowledge. I am versatile and can adapt my teaching methods depending on the different goals and needs of each student.

Tutoring Experience

  • Language tutoring (Italian): I have been tutoring Italian for 8 years now. I have worked both with adult and younger students, helping them prepare for exams or to enjoy their trips to Italy more.
  • Language tutoring (English): I have tutored mostly children between 8 and 14 years of age through my volunteering work at the Associazione "Il Germoglio" (Mantua, Italy). I have also helped students prepare for University English exams at the Università di Verona (Italy).
  • Math tutoring: in the past, I have tutored children between 7 and 16 years of age, helping them with their homework and assisting them with exam preparation (GCSEs, A levels, etc.)
  • History, History of Art, Study Skills: while studying for both of my BA degrees and my MA degree I have often helped other students prepare for examinations in these subjects. I am currently assisting undergraduate students study and deliver their exams/assignments

Tutoring Approach

I believe tutoring methods should match any student's preferred way of learning because we all learn differently and have different goals. Someone preparing for an academic examination has different tutoring needs from someone who is learning for personal interest. The teaching approach changes according to this. I always do my best to include the student's personal interests in the lessons, which usually better stimulates their attention. As each student is different and has their own learning needs, I discuss these with each of them (or their guardian) regularly to make sure they are getting the most out of the lessons.

LanguagesItalian, English (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University College London (UCL)2015MastersMA Caribbean and Latin American Studies
University of California Los Angeles (UCLA)2013BachelorsBA History
University of California Los Angeles (UCLA)2013BachelorsBA Art History
Education First (EF) - Santa Barbara2009OtherCertificate of Completion

Giovanna's Feedback

Feedback
9
Published feedback
9
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0