Information About Geri - Barnet tutor

Profile Picture

Geri's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Geri:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Geri (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am a fully qualified teacher with more than 24 years of teaching experience in F.E. colleges, language schools and as a private tutor. I have travelled extensively and like to get to know different cultures. Due to my love of Spanish and Spanish culture, I ended up living in Argentina and Spain for over eight years. It was a fantastic experience and I still visit as often as possible. Being a very sociable person, I decided to start a language group while in Spain that now has over a thousand members. I also have a growing group here in the UK too so people can practise their language skills and socialise at the same time.
In my free-time I love to do DIY projects, I am a member of a walking group and also enjoy going to music gigs.

Tutoring Experience:

For many years I was head of Law and later co-ordinator for Access to H.E. courses in an F.E. college, helping both teenagers and adults achieve success in their goals. During my time living abroad, I then switched to teaching language and worked as an EFL teacher for major companies such as Coca-Cola, Vodafone and IKEA. I also worked with Cathay Pacific as an examiner for the ICAO English exams that all their pilots have to take. I thoroughly enjoy language teaching and since becoming fluent in Spanish, I have taught the subject to assist complete beginners, GCSE and A level candidates. It is so rewarding to see my students grow in confidence and competence with the language. As a native English speaker who has gone through the process of learning Spanish, I fully understand the difficulties that can be encountered and will be able to assist you with tips to overcome these challenges.
Currently I teach at a college as well as tutoring in Spanish and EFL privately.

Tutoring Approach:

Whether it is exam skills, grammar, or speaking practice that you require assistance with, you will find that I am professional, friendly and patient.
I use a variety of teaching methods and resources to accommodate different learning styles. Usually the classes are in my own home but I am willing to travel up to 5 miles.
I tutor individuals or small groups of up to four students of a similar level (discounts available).
I look forward to hearing from you.


  • Instituto Cervantes (2008) - DELE Spanish Diploma (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge ESOL (2006) - CELTA (Grade B) (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Greenwich University (2004) - PGCE (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Middlesex University (1990) - Law & Psychology (2:1 hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Barnet Spanish tutor, Barnet GCSE Spanish tutor, Barnet A-Level Spanish tutor