Skip to main content

Information About Gavin - Belfast tutor -

Profile Picture

Gavin's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Gavin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Gavin

Personal Description:

Hi! I'm Gavin and I was born and raised in Carrickfergus. I am 24 and currently undertaking a PhD in Chemistry at Queen's University Belfast. I graduated from the University of St Andrews in June 2017 with a First Class Honours Masters degree in Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry and External Placement. For a year of my degree I worked in Hull for Reckitt Benckiser as an analytical chemist for Nurofen products. I enjoy running and have run 12 marathons so far along with numerous half marathons and weekly 5ks (parkrun). I also enjoy playing badminton and bridge. I am currently based in Belfast but return to Carrick often to see family and friends. I achieved 4 A's at A2 level (Chemistry, Biology, Maths and Spanish) and 6A* + 5A grades in my GCSEs.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a committed and reliable tutor for a full academic year (Sept 17- Jun 18) in A level and GCSE chemistry. I only believe in tutoring students when you have a higher qualification than the one they are studying for (masters for bachelors, bachelors for A levels etc) and so only started tutoring upon the completion of my undergraduate degree in St Andrews in September 2017. Since then I have tutored 27 students from GCSE, A level, University entry level and common interest courses.

After my first year of tutoring (August 2018 results) my students managed 1A*, 7 A, 1 B and 2 C grades including students who went from a E/D to an A and an E to a C grade.

I’ve also helped two mature students from Belfast Metropolitan College pass their exams.

During my PhD I have supervised 4 Masters students, guiding them and helping them structure their dissertations. I have been a laboratory demonstrator for chemical engineering and pharmacy undergraduate labs and have a lot of experience helping/working with young adults.

I have also been a tutor with other companies and have a track record of improved results and positive reviews.

Tutoring Approach:

I do my tutoring at The Graduate School in QUB (beside the Lanyon Building). I tutor here because I can book rooms, meaning there are no distractions, there is a desk with space to spread out papers and there is a use of a projector if needed.

I am friendly and approachable and do not take a hard line disciplined approach to teaching as I find that is what has put most young people off the subject in the first place. As a result, I am patient and forthcoming. I will explain things numerous times if need be and will be practical with the work provided.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Queen's University Belfast (2020) - PhD in Chemistry (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • University of St Andrews (2017) - MChem Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Belfast Chemistry tutor, Belfast Biology tutor, Belfast Spanish tutor, Belfast Maths tutor, Belfast Primary Chemistry tutor, Belfast Secondary Chemistry tutor, Belfast GCSE Chemistry tutor, Belfast A-Level Chemistry tutor, Belfast University Chemistry tutor, Belfast Casual Learner Chemistry tutor, Belfast GCSE Biology tutor, Belfast GCSE Spanish tutor, Belfast Primary Maths tutor, Belfast Secondary Maths tutor, Belfast GCSE Maths tutor