Skip to main content

Information About Ethar - Hastings tutor -
(4 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ethar:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £10.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
Secondary £10.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00

Map Location

Map for Ethar (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

My name is Ethar Al-Saraf and I am 27 years old. I have spent the past few years graduating from my Bachelors degree in English Literature, an MA in Philosophy and am now close to completing a PhD in Philosophy on the issue of Phenomenology and Free Will. I spend whatever leisure time I have dedicating myself to my field of study and developing a number of thoughts and theories relating to my thesis. Other than my academic commitments I like to spend my time exercising, socialising with close friends and watching the occasional football match or film. As far as my personal background goes, with a father who is an experienced journalist and writer, a mother who is a published cook, a sister who is in the media industry and a younger brother who has graduated with a degree in Classical studies, ambitions in my family are very high and the standard for achievement is perpetually raised with every new success. I hold nothing back in any attempt I make at personal targets and I pass the same attitude of will and determination on to all of my friends and all of those whom I have previously helped through their studies.

Tutoring Experience:

At both BA level and A level I have spent a lot of time helping the students in the years below my own by arranging study sessions and offering some one-on-one time to work on more specific issues they might have with certain aspects of the course. At my own level, I have often worked with friends studying the same topics, to help them develop their grasp of certain ideas and become more confident in tackling the areas that they initially felt either unwilling or unable to cope with. As a result of my personal passion for my field and the development of intellectual thought in general, I have regularly succeeded in helping friends, fellow students and any others that have been recommended to me regardless of their age or the degree of their difficulties. Those character attributes and past experiences are some of the reasons I believe I will be perfectly suited to my eventual goal of leading seminars at a university while I complete a PhD in my chosen areas of Philosophy. It is for those same reasons that I believe personal tutoring is something which has always come naturally to me and as a result, I am confident that my prospective students will almost inevitably excel.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe quite deeply in the notion that a person can achieve all they want to so long as they meet two basic criteria: confidence in themselves and the will to meet the challenges presented by their chosen goals. It is my intention as personal tutor, to offer the means by which those qualities can be realised such that an adequate foundation is developed upon which all academic growth can be built. As far as evidence would suggest that can only be done through patience, focus and concentrated attention paid to the subtle psychological distinctions from one pupil to the next and that is exactly what I intend to do. Finally I do not believe that genuine learning comes solely as a result of the demands of an authority figure but from the ability to think and deal with intellectual challenges independently. Dependency, no matter how brief, cannot be considered the path to development. Essentially I realise the necessary redundancy of my position should it be executed accurately; that eventually my pupil should be able to learn on their own and even challenge their tutor. That and that alone is my approach and my aim.

Qualifications:

  • University of Sussex (2010) - Philosophy of Phenomenology and Free Will (Ongoing) (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • Birkbeck University (2009) - Philosophy (Pass) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Queen Mary University (2006) - English Literature (High 2.1) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Bexhill College (2004) - 3 A Levels English Literature (A), Modern History (B), Business (B) (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Arabic
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hastings English tutor, Hastings Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hastings Secondary English tutor, Hastings GCSE English tutor, Hastings A-Level English tutor, Hastings University English tutor, Hastings Secondary Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hastings GCSE Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hastings A-Level Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Hastings University Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor