Skip to main content

Information About Eric - Clapham tutor

Profile Picture

Eric's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Eric:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Eric offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £22.50£20.25
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £25.00£22.50
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £22.50£20.25
13 Plus £25.00£22.50
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50

Map Location

Map for Eric

Personal Description:

I am an experienced, enthusiastic and versatile teacher, keen to impart learning to others. In the 1980s I developed a passion for computer programming whilst at secondary schooI. I graduated with an honours degree in Mathematics and its Applications from Cardiff University (1991) with Pure & Applied Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Programming being key components of the degree. On returning to London I enrolled on a PGCE course in secondary education and completed this, obtaining Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in July 1992.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught in Lewisham, Bromley and Kent schools (secondary and primary) during the period 1992-1996 as a newly qualified teacher. In 1996 I helped to found a small independent primary school in Hackney developing and delivering its curriculum including Maths, English, Science, History, Geography, Music, Art & P.E. I continued in this line of independent schooling, in headteacher and teacher capacities, up to 2015. After a long hiatus from secondary education I returned to the field in late 2015 teaching mathematics to children aged 11-17, including sixth formers. As of September 2017 I will assume a Maths KS3 Leader role in London secondary school teaching from Year 8 up to Sixth Form (GCSE resits). Additionally, I am an experienced computer programmer and have previously run one-to-one and summer workshops in Microsoft Small Basic, Flash scripting and graphic design. I now utilise such tools as a complement to learning for MAT (More Able & Talented) and SEN (Special Educational Needs) students. I additionally have experience teaching children and adults with Dyslexia and helping soon-to-be-teachers to pass numeracy tests prior to their Qualified Teacher Status.

Tutoring Approach:

I consider every student to be unique and therefore start my tutoring relationships through listening and dialogue, as would a medical doctor. I offer a step-by-step approach to the topics at hand in order to determine whether or not a change or departure from convention is required to keep the student moving towards their goal. Targets are very important, whatever the size of the task at hand. Patience is always employed. Life examples are used to develop understanding. A stress on the importance of knowing the definitions of words, regardless of the topic, is paramount as misunderstandings delay progress.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Institute of Education (1992) - QTS (Secondary) (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Cardiff University (1991) - B.Sc.(Hons) Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Clapham Maths tutor, Clapham Entrance Exams tutor, Clapham Primary Maths tutor, Clapham Secondary Maths tutor, Clapham GCSE Maths tutor, Clapham Casual Learner Maths tutor, Clapham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Clapham Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Clapham Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor