Skip to main content

Information About Emily - Cambridge tutor -

Profile Picture

Emily's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Emily:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Emily

Personal Description:

I graduated from The University of Durham in June 2015 with a 2:1 in English & Education, with a limitless enthusiasm for English and passion for teaching others.

During my time at university I enjoyed a broad exposure to great writers from William Shakespeare to Oscar Wilde; Charles Dickens through to Seamus Heaney and Arthur Miller. These playwrights, novelists and poets have not only gone on to inspire generations of future writers, but school syllabuses as well. I have a genuine passion for helping students to find an active engagement with these texts; to overcome stumbling blocks in reading and analysing, finding the key to their success.

Likewise as part of Education Studies, I have studied the processes we go through to learn a language, to spell and to engage with one another, from pre-language stages to more complex levels of understanding developed in adulthood. Modules such as ‘Learning and Teaching’ and 'Identity, Culture and Education' have furthered my interest in becoming an English Tutor, giving me a strong theoretical grounding in learning at all stages in life.

Otherwise, I am very sociable and enjoy finding creative solutions!

Tutoring Experience:

I am self motivated, with highly developed communication and listening skills. From a young age, I have strengthened a passion for working with children, from placements in local primary schools, to working as a GCSE English Tutor, assisting children from the age of 15-18.

During my time at local primary schools, I assisted the organisation of daily classroom activities, whilst operating as a reading assistant for children aged 4 upward. Being able to support the journey of language learning from this stage was a vastly rewarding experience and something I hope to advance as a Tutor.

Similarly, I have enjoyed the challenge and diversity of working as a GCSE and A Level Tutor. I have experience in drawing lesson plans tailored to the curriculum, to helping a variety of pupils realise their potential whilst thoroughly supporting diverse ways of learning.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a thoroughly supportive and active tutor. I understand that everyone is different, and therefore some areas will come more naturally than others. Therefore I believe in meeting with tutees and/or their parents, to firstly understand the student's needs, their preferred ways of learning and what they would like to accomplish within the sessions.

To be able to provide the most support, I make sure I follow the correct school syllabus and examination requirements for each pupil, and outline each session with specific objectives to help them to reach their goal. I like to take a proactive approach to tutoring, guiding the student through exercises, homework or exam preparation supported by supplementary materials to offer different examples or perspectives.

Overall, I hope to bring forward an innate passion for English, making it accessible and engaging for all.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of Durham (2015) - English and Education (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The Fallibroome Academy (2011) - A Level English Literature (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Fallibroome Academy (2011) - A Level English Language (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Fallibroome Academy (2009) - GCSEs (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Cambridge English tutor, Cambridge Secondary English tutor, Cambridge GCSE English tutor, Cambridge A-Level English tutor