Elizabeth

Elizabeth

Clapham Tutor

A private tutor with 6 years experience in one to one tuition specialising in Mathematics. I have taught students of all abilities and share my passion for Maths through various teaching techniques. At GCSE, I achieved an A* for Mathematics, with a score of 91% in one paper and 99% on the second paper, placing myself in the top 5% in the country at the time. I took 12 GCSEs, which were all grades (A*-C).

Whilst at college I studied for 3 A-levels, which included Psychology, Sociology and Mathematics. I achieved a B grade in Mathematics being just a few marks off the A grade.

In July 2016 I became a qualified Chartered Accountant.

I am currently working in Finance. Previously, I graduated with a 2:1 BSc honours in Mathematics, Business Management and Finance from Queen Mary, University of London in June 2010.

My subject passion has always revolved around Mathematics, this is why I pursued it to Degree level. Mathematics is a challenging subject and I believe that it is important for a tutor to be able to share their love of a subject, which my teachers did with me, in order for the student to progress to their full potential. I believe that I am able to bring this passion and enthusiasm to my teaching of Mathematics.

Tutoring Experience

I took part in a teaching scheme for 3 weeks, where I taught Mathematics to year 7 up until year 13 students in a mixed sex secondary school. I also did voluntary work at a boys secondary school for 3 months, again I taught Mathematics to years 7 -11 students. My main teaching style was through the use of Power Point presentations. I would also make sure I incorporated Maths quizzes, related games and mini Maths songs for remembering formulas into lessons, to ensure that I catered for all 3 types of learning styles: Auditory, Kinesthetic and Visual. Students would then get tested on what they learned through a popular programme used in schools called My Maths.

Tutoring Approach

Through my own experience being a student and also my experience of being a teacher, I understand that all pupils learn in different ways. One style does not suit all! As a result of this I ensure that I find out what learning style the tutee has and accommodate the learning programme to suit their individual needs. I have a basic structure lesson plan, which is flexible to suit the students abilities. My aim whilst tutoring is to help and encourage the student to reach and exceed their full potential. I know that students do not always find Maths the most fun subject but I believe that I will be able to share the passion I have for it, by incorporating relevant fun aspects to it. Also coming from a Business Management and Finance background, my tutee will have the added bonus of learning first hand how Mathematics applies to many businesses, real life situations, events and in my own day-to-day career.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Queen Mary, University of London2010Bachelors2:1 BSc Mathematics, Business Management, Finance
St Francis Xavier College2007CollegeB grade A-Level Mathematics and also 2 other A-Levels( A-C)
Dunraven School 2005SchoolA* grade GCSE Mathematics and also 11 other GCSES (A-C)
ICAEW2015ProfessionalACA fully qualified

Elizabeth's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Elizabeth
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£35
Secondary£45
GCSE£50
Casual Learner£50