Skip to main content

Information About Elizabeth - Iver tutor -

References

This is how 2 referees rated Elizabeth:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
Casual Learner £40.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Personal Description:

I am a fully-qualified teacher with over twenty-five years' teaching experience in French, English (to GCSE), and English as a Foreign Language in the UK and overseas. I am bi-lingual (French mother, English father). When I teach French, I communicate in the target language whenever possible thus maximising my students' exposure to the language and as I have no accent when I speak, students can benefit from hearing genuine, standard French.
In EFL, I have taught examination classes (IELTS, Cambridge examinations, CAE, FCE, KET, PET), General English courses as well as English for Academic purposes and English for Business purposes. I teach all four skills (Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking) or I can focus on individual skills only (for example, to improve speaking I can offer conversation classes or telephone English. etc… ).
I have also taught mainstream English to KS1,KS2, KS3 and GCSE as well as IGCSE.
As I have also been responsible for UCAS applications, I can also assist students with their writing of personal statements.
I have a warm personality, a good-humoured outlook and I am patient and kind. I enjoy teaching and many of my students have thanked me for their later success in the subjects I offer. I provide tailored support to my students by identifying and working to their learning requirements. I believe students can and will succeed on condition that they work well and systematically. For my part, I set high standards for myself and my students and at the same time always strive to bolster my students' morale and confidence.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught in the UK (independent schools, state schools and sixth form colleges) and overseas (Portugal, Sultanate of Oman, Denmark, France). Throughout my career, I have taught all abilities and levels - from beginners to advanced level students and to a varied age range (from late primary to adults) as well as students of different nationalities and cultural backgrounds. I have been a Head of Department, a Senior Tutor responsible for UCAS applications (helping with writing personal statements and writing references) and a Director of Careers whilst never relinquishing classroom teaching. I have also taught on summer courses and on a one-to-one basis. In Portugal I taught general English to youngsters (9 - 14 years of age), in Denmark I taught English for specific purposes in a pharmaceutical company to a mixed class of Danish scientists and general workers, in the Sultanate of Oman, I worked in an Omani language school teaching Omani adults (non-alphabet beginners through to upper-intermediate) general English. In France, I taught conversation English to French teenagers, focusing on aspects of grammar, too.

Tutoring Approach:

It is well known that success has a very important effect on motivation, so my approach is to help my students succeed, first in small ways and then in more significant ones so that their motivation and confidence increase. Whenever possible I try to personalise the students' learning by choosing topics that interest them or by relating the work they bring to me to their interests so that it becomes more meaningful to them and therefore more memorable. I offer study tips and suggestions for improving examination technique. I enjoy using a variety of texts (including literature) to expand language awareness and I employ a variety of teaching methods and activities to maintain interest. I ensure high quality assessment (if required) and feedback on marked work. I coach revision skills if needed and can offer suggestions for further study and effective time management. I take a lot of pride in my work and I am well-organised and adaptable. I am thoroughly professional and respectful of all my students.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Bristol University (2006) - M.A. French/Art History (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • The Bell Language Schools (1997) - Royal Society of Arts (RSA) Diploma in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (now the DELTA) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • London University (1982) - Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Hull University (1980) - B.A Honours French (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Iver English tutor, Iver French tutor, Iver English (Foreign Language) tutor, Iver Primary English tutor, Iver Secondary English tutor, Iver GCSE English tutor, Iver Casual Learner English tutor, Iver Primary French tutor, Iver Secondary French tutor, Iver GCSE French tutor, Iver A-Level French tutor, Iver Casual Learner French tutor, Iver Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Iver Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Iver GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Iver A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Iver University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Iver Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor