Skip to main content

Information About Irina - Durham tutor -

Profile Picture

Irina's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Irina:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Irina offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £23.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £23.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £27.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Russian

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £27.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00
13 Plus £25.00
14 Plus £25.00
College £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Citizenship

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Irina

Personal Description:

I am a Durham Maths (and, occasionally, Russian) tutor. DBS cleared. QTS PGCE qualified. DfS registered. I tutor Maths for GCSE, A-levels and for professional career progress (RANRA, GMAT and other non-verbal reasoning tests).

I gained MSc. Maths studying 5 years abroad, completed my PGCE in the Noths East and now cover for Maths teachers in the state and private secondary schools and 6-forms in the North East.

I work in a study room in my house, and online. If you wish me to tutor at your address, please check if this option is available.
Due to popularity of Maths tutoring, please book and pay for your lessons in advance, as you might have to wait till a place becomes available.

(Locations: DH postcodes (DH1, DH2, DH3, DH4, DH5, DH6, DH7, DH8), Durham, Newton Hall, Pity Me, Bowburn, Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor, Great Lumley, Sacriston, Bournmoor, New Herrington, Houghton le Hole, Hetton-le-Spring, Easington Lane, High and Low Pittington, Sherburn Village, Shincliffe, Bowburn, Coxhoe, Haswell, Wheatley Hill, Shotton Colliery, Meadowfield, Ushaw Moor, Esh, Langley Park, Lanchester, Spennymoor, Ferryhill… )

Tutoring Experience:

I taught Maths in schools and tutored it privately, professionally, last 5 years. Maths is my speciality. I work with a variety of abilities, including training for the maths challenge (olympiads) and raising confidence of those at risk of failier or re-sitting their exams.

My students often refer to my excellent subject knowledge and explanations that are easy to understand and remember. They say my lessons are fun and yet very helpful for understanding and use of maths. Many appreciate how I raise their confidence and add to their self-study skills. More can be found in the "Reviews" section here or on other sites.

Please refer to the list of subjects I offer. at a glance:
-- Maths-- is my speciality, I teach it to 9-19+ year students and professionals. I have MSc Mathematics, PGCE Secondary Mathematics. Importantly, I teach it pedagogically, so that you understand and can do it.
-- Russian and Russian Literature - I proudly hold the top grades in the Russia's own equivalent of GCSE.

Tutoring Approach:

I tutor 10-19+ year olds Maths for GCSE, A-levels and for professional career progress (RANRA, GMAT and other non-verbal reasoning tests). Examination boards' requirements (AQA, OCR, Edexcel, RANRA) and governmental guidelines guide but do not limit my tutoring.

Depending on your goal, I offer either a crash course before exams, or thorough developing of maths thinking and skills. I teach maths pedagogically, so, that you understand, remember and can do it yourself!

My explanations are clear and memorable. You will enjoy a variety of activities in my lessons. I get on with people well. I use various motivation and facilitation techniques helping you to strengthen your confidence.

Some of my GCSE students received confident level 9 in Maths and Further Maths or pass RANRA to take their careers to leadership level. Others need support with moving from Foundation to Higher. And yet there are some who gain confidence in the lower grades for some very practical, functional maths. A number of primary kids acquire fluency and understanding in numeracy and basic mathematical skills. They aim for SATs or 11+, but importantly form the basis for successful progress on the secondary school level.

I encourage to start tutoring as early as possible. When there is no time pressure I'll encourage my students' curiosity and help them to become efficient self-learners.

I am a professional tutor and earn my living teaching Maths. Please respect my time and effort. After your first lesson I can only accept prepaid bookings. If you need to cancel or postpone a lesson I would need to know at least 24 hours in advance to refund it in full (for exceptions of illnesses or other urgent matters).

References from outside the site are available in addition. They say that I am supportive; flexible to adapt to learners needs; enthusiastic about maths; knowledgeable.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: English (British), German, Russian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sunderland (2015) - Maths Teacher (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Sunderland (2009) - IT Management (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Ural State University (1993) - Mathematics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Russian GCSE for native speakers (1988) - Russian and Russian Literature (Other) (✔ On File)

Tags: Durham Maths tutor, Durham Physics tutor, Durham Russian tutor, Durham Entrance Exams tutor, Durham English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham Citizenship tutor, Durham Primary Maths tutor, Durham Secondary Maths tutor, Durham GCSE Maths tutor, Durham A-Level Maths tutor, Durham Casual Learner Maths tutor, Durham Secondary Physics tutor, Durham GCSE Physics tutor, Durham A-Level Physics tutor, Durham Casual Learner Physics tutor, Durham Primary Russian tutor, Durham Secondary Russian tutor, Durham GCSE Russian tutor, Durham A-Level Russian tutor, Durham University Russian tutor, Durham Casual Learner Russian tutor, Durham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Durham Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Durham GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Durham A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Durham Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor, Durham Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham Primary Citizenship tutor, Durham Secondary Citizenship tutor, Durham GCSE Citizenship tutor, Durham Casual Learner Citizenship tutor