Skip to main content

Information About Edwin - Nottingham tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Edwin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £22.00
A-Level £25.00
University £27.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Italian

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £22.00
A-Level £25.00
University £27.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £22.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Edwin

Personal Description:

I am British by birth with an Italian mother. I was brought up speaking English, Friulano and Italian. I am a retired teacher of Modern Foreign Languages with over 25 years of classroom experience and 12 years of teaching private students.
I am happy to travel up to 20 miles.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a retired teacher of Modern Foreighn Languages with over 25 years of classroom experience and 12 years of teaching private students. I have taught French, Spanish and Italian ab initio to post A Level

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring Approach: - Communication – Communication - Communication

I always adapt each lesson according to the student's personality and needs. At the beginning I usually discuss with students what they want to achieve as a target and what topics interest them most and I will meet their needs. My students have achieved good results and have improved their level of learning.
I tailor the learning processes and techniques differently to each student.
For whatever reason you need to learn or update your foreign language skills - business, pleasure, exams etc. - I can help you achieve your goals.
I tailor my teaching styles to your learning needs and objectives. There is no need to buy expensive courses. I will provide the necessary materials. All you need to provide is the enthusiasm to learn. You need to commit to a few minutes each day of personal learning.
I usually have a preliminary meeting with you to ascertain what you need and if you have any prior learning in the target language.

I then adapt my lessons to your level and your specific needs. I integrate new learning into your existing knowledge base - if any. I will give you strategies for easy vocabulary learning and build on that vocabulary with accessible grammar so that you can start to talk on an ever- widening number of topics.

I create a comfortable teaching environment so that each student can concentrate and be motivated.

My two main aims are to
+ To promote active learning.
+ To encourage communication.
I help you learn on a 1-to-1 basis or in small groups [max 6].
I also teach small groups.
Small groups have several advantages: -
+ Small groups allow students to bring their own experience to the learning process
+ Small groups encourage active learning rather than passive listening
+ Students take more responsibility for their own learning
+ Students learn from each other's demonstrations, examples, insights, and mistakes
+ Students develop interpersonal communication skills, such as listening, collaborating
+ Students become more competent and more confident more quickly

I taught modern languages [mainly French] for 25 years from year 7 to adult learners at secondary level [11- 18] and tertiary level [18+].
I have had a variety of jobs since then including working for a translation/interpreting **Contact Detail Removed** and NHS Interpreting Services.
My mother was Italian - Italian [near native]
Speak French [near native]
Spanish
Portuguese.

Teaching Experience:
French 25 years 11-18 & Private tuition various levels & FE to Final Diploma Institute of Linguists
Italian FE – from the start & private tuition
Spanish FE – from the start & private tuition
I am currently tutoring a variety of students covering a wide range of ages and abilities and languages.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • NCN (1984) - Italian and Spanis IL (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sheffield Uni (1973) - B. Ed (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Doncaster College of Education (1972) - Cert Ed (Professional) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Nottingham French tutor, Nottingham Italian tutor, Nottingham Spanish tutor, Nottingham Secondary French tutor, Nottingham GCSE French tutor, Nottingham A-Level French tutor, Nottingham University French tutor, Nottingham Casual Learner French tutor, Nottingham Secondary Italian tutor, Nottingham GCSE Italian tutor, Nottingham A-Level Italian tutor, Nottingham University Italian tutor, Nottingham Casual Learner Italian tutor, Nottingham Secondary Spanish tutor, Nottingham GCSE Spanish tutor, Nottingham A-Level Spanish tutor, Nottingham Casual Learner Spanish tutor