Skip to main content

Information About Dilhara - York tutor

Profile Picture

Dilhara's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dilhara:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00

Psychology

Hourly Rate
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Dilhara (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am an experienced teacher/lecturer who has been teaching students of different levels. Currently I live in York (Heslington). I mainly teach Psychology and has extensive experience in teaching ALs (especially Cambridge and Edexcel curriculum), University Level psychology.
I have Postgraduate qualifications both in Applied Psychology as well as in Linguistics. Therefore, I teach English as a foreign language which aims mainly at improving the language skills/ writing skills of students which would help them obtaining better grades in exams.
In addition to being a lecturer, I am a practicing psychotherapist and usually using psychological knowledge in teaching for my students to get excellent grades.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 08 years of lecturing experience in overseas state university as well as at a college which is affiliated to a UK university. Therefore, I am well aware of the UK education system. I have been teaching Psychology for the past 06 years and it includes both AL students as well as undergraduate and postgraduate (MSc) students who followed UK degrees. I have been assessing the exam papers and coursework for many modules (qualitative research, Developmental Psychology, Counselling Psychology, Project Planning,etc).

I have been supervising dissertations (BSc and MSc) of Psychology students for the past 03 years and have experience in teaching qualitative research.

I have 02 years of experience in teaching the AL Psychology students and have followed Cambridge and Edexcel teacher training workshops.

I have also taught academic writing skills for undergraduate students whose first language is not English.

I have 01 year experience of teaching the primary level students French as a foreign language.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to teaching is a multimodal one which aims at improving the skills and knowledge of the student. I would be addressing the individual student's needs by identifying the strengths and limitations of the student in learning as well as by screening the learning style of each student. My tutoring approach is based on enhancing the student's skills in order for him/ her to reach the full potential.

Qualifications:

  • Coventry University,UK (2013) - MSc Applied Psychology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka (2010) - MA Linguistics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Kelaniya,Sri Lanka (2007) - BA (Psychology, French, Translations (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Sinhala
Additional Languages: English (British), French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: York French tutor, York Psychology tutor, York English (Foreign Language) tutor, York Primary French tutor, York A-Level Psychology tutor, York University Psychology tutor, York Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, York Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, York A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, York University English (Foreign Language) tutor, York Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor