Dhammitha

Dhammitha

St. Albans Tutor

I am a science graduate with a PhD from the University of London. I have two children (11 and 13 years old) at nationally renowned selective schools.

I have been successfully tutoring children in maths, English and reasoning, in the lead up to the 11- plus, for several years.

A caring person with strong interpersonal skills, I believe that with the correct teaching, support and direction, children can achieve great progress in these key subjects, leading to success in any exams they take. The confidence they acquire through extra tuition not only helps them to pass these highly competitive exams, but also thrive in the class room every day.

Tutoring Experience

Private 11 plus tutor for primary school children in school years 2 to 8.
Voluntary class room helper in maths for year 5 girls at a top UK independent school.
Teacher training in nationally renowned state schools, including a top grammar, a partially selective secondary and a state boarding school.
Teaching assistant for undergraduate students at the University of London.
Very experienced in application procedures for independent and grammar schools.

Tutoring Approach

My approach is to initially assess the child to build a picture of how they learn, what their strengths are and where they need extra support.

After discussion with parent and child, I can then provide a comprehensive programme of English and maths teaching to strengthen the foundations, fill the gaps, move them ahead and extend them in areas where they are strong. This will go hand in hand with preparing the child for exams, steadily at first and then leading to practice papers and the teaching of exam technique and time management. This approach will be tailored to suit each child.

I will be available to the student or parent by telephone for advice and help in between the lessons. The student may call or e mail me with any homework (from school or work set by me) with which they need help.

The tutoring sessions will be positive so that the child enjoys them and want to continue. I am committed to achieving great outcomes for the child as this will increase their confidence, which in turn will make learning a happier and more successful experience.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Sinhala
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of London1992BachelorsBSc
University of London2004DoctoratePhD
University of London2000OtherTeaching assistant

Dhammitha's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Dhammitha
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£35
English
Primary£35
Entrance Exams
Primary£35