Skip to main content

Information About Dewi - Prestatyn tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Dewi's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dewi:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Dewi (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am an experienced tutor with a proven track record of getting results out of my students. I have a degree in Physics from Imperial College London and for a number of years worked in electrical engineering, gaining a Certificate of Higher Education from Aston University.

I am a fluent Welsh speaker.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked as a tutor in the Denbighshire/Flintshire area for 2 years, having taught around 40 students in this time. I also teach children with behavioural/attendance issues to help them get the grades they need outside of the traditional school setting. At University I worked as a teaching assistant and mentor at an inner city school in London.

Tutoring Approach:

I always tailor the sessions the specific needs of the student, taking into account their personality and learning style, what they're hoping to achieve and the time we have available. I tend to make the sessions fairly informal and engaging and aim to really pique the student's interest in the subject, which makes the learning process a lot easier.

For me, the first priority has to be maximising performance in exams and coursework but I also aim to cultivate a deeper understanding of the subject in my students. This not only provides confidence going into exams but also gives a solid foundation for their next level of study. Confidence here is key and this confidence will come from a thorough understanding of the subject which will in turn come from practice, hard-work, explanation and time (so starting early is best though short-term tuition is still effective).

In my experience, fear is often the biggest barrier to understanding maths so its essential that the student feels free to make mistakes and get things wrong in the sessions as this is a necessary part of getting to grips with the subject. Therefore, whilst I take the overall project of tuition seriously, the sessions themselves are often quite relaxed and conversational and I encourage the student to have as much input as possible.

Please message me for any more information. Thanks!

Qualifications:

  • Aston University (2014) - Electrical Engineering (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Imperial College London (2010) - Physics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Welsh
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Prestatyn Maths tutor, Prestatyn Physics tutor, Prestatyn GCSE Maths tutor, Prestatyn A-Level Maths tutor, Prestatyn Casual Learner Maths tutor, Prestatyn GCSE Physics tutor, Prestatyn A-Level Physics tutor, Prestatyn Casual Learner Physics tutor