Skip to main content

Information About Devan - Woodford Green tutor -

Profile Picture

Devan's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Devan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £80.00
Secondary £80.00
GCSE £80.00
A-Level £85.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £80.00
Secondary £80.00
GCSE £80.00
A-Level £85.00
Casual Learner £80.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £80.00
13 Plus £80.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

2018 highlights:
- 100% 11+ exam pass rate for independent schools with students accepting offers at top independent schools such as Brentwood School, Forest School, Chigwell School and Bancroft's School.
- All my students gained offers at their first choice school. A couple of my students received a minimum of two offers from top independent schools.

2017 highlights:
- One of my students has been awarded a place at Forest School for 13+.
- A student averaging a U in AS Level Maths, achieved a high C after two months of lessons.
- A student averaging a low D in GCSE Spanish achieved a comfortable B grade.
- A KS3 Maths student averaging a borderline level 3 achieved a high level 6 in his end of year exams and is predicted a level 7/8.
- A GCSE Maths student averaging a low D achieved a comfortable B Grade after a short period of lessons.
- All my students have achieved their desired grade as a minimum.

I am a full time private tutor. For your peace of mind, I am Security Cleared and hold a DBS certificate.

My academic record is as follows:
- B.Sc (Honours) Economics with Spanish - 2.1- University of Birmingham
- High A in both A level Mathematics and Spanish.
- High A* in both GCSE Mathematics and Spanish.
- Received an award for achieving 100% in my GCSE Spanish and subsequently coming top 10 in the UK out of over 15,000 exam entries.

I come from a family of linguists and so have a strong interest in languages. I speak English, Gujarati and Spanish fluently and currently have conversational Italian and a working knowledge of Hindi. As part of my degree I spent a year abroad studying Economics in Spanish at the Universidad de Granada (Spain). This experience has allowed me to reach a C1 level as set out by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFRL). In addition, I have completed the following Spanish courses:

“Curso de Español como lengua extranjera (60 horas)”. “Spanish as a foreign language (60 hours)”. Level B2.2 (Higher Advanced). Grade 9/10. Location: Granada.
“Lengua y civilización española (25 horas)”. “Spanish language and civilisation (25 hours)”. Level B1 (Intermediate). Grade average 9/10. Location: Madrid.

Reasons to choose me as your tutor:
1. I limit my students to ensure I maintain my teaching quality across all students. This is evidenced by my reviews thus far.
2. I tell you exactly which books are worth purchasing to boost your knowledge and hence save you the time and stress of searching and contemplating.
3. I provide full worked solutions to all questions from the books we will use together so your child can recap the methods taught in our lesson.
4. I have unrivalled patience and can boost my students’ confidence in a subject.
5. I provide honest advice and feedback throughout.
6. I monitor the progress and learning objectives of my students to ensure they are maximising their potential.
7. I am a punctual and reliable individual.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring full time since 2016 and have taught a number of students GCSE and A-level Spanish, KS3, GCSE and A-Level Maths.

I am currently preparing several students for upcoming 11+ entrance exams (Maths and Non-verbal) at top schools such as Forest, Bancrofts, City of London boys, Westcliff and Woodford County High School.

Tutoring Approach:

11+: I specialise in Maths and Non-Verbal. I have made my own 11+ question bank which mirrors the style of questions asked in the exams and run mock exam sessions and provide feedback on improvement areas.

Spanish: My lessons are creative, involve plenty of exercises, vocabulary drills and strengthening grammar overall as in my view this is the backbone to learning a language. Oral discussions are formed from Spanish newspaper articles or from the key topics in the textbook. Homework is set to reinforce the key points learned in class. Lastly, I focus on exam technique as this is crucial to attaining the highest marks.

Maths: My lessons involve going through all topics in the exam syllabus, learning the necessary theory and reinforcing the students' understanding through an abundance of questions. Homework will also be exercises which will aid their understanding. As the exam date approaches, I focus on past papers to ensure they are entering their exam as ready as one can be. I have always set the bar high and ensure my students extract the most out of their potential. Please note that I cover all exam boards for all subjects (OCR, Edexcel, AQA, OCR MEI etc.).

From my experience throughout school and university, I have noticed the prospect of learning a foreign language or challenging subjects in general can be daunting and students often have low confidence levels as a result. I would like to share with you the techniques that I followed to achieve these high marks whilst making the learning experience thoroughly enjoyable. I always set the bar high to ensure my students maximise their potential. Lastly, I offer out of contact hours assistance should my students have any queries regarding the exercises set or otherwise.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Gujarati, Spanish, Gujarati, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Birmingham (2014) - BSc (Honours) Economics with Spanish (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Forest School (2010) - A-level Spanish (School) (✔ On File)
  • Forest School (2010) - A-level Mathematics (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Woodford Green Maths tutor, Woodford Green Spanish tutor, Woodford Green Entrance Exams tutor, Woodford Green Primary Maths tutor, Woodford Green Secondary Maths tutor, Woodford Green GCSE Maths tutor, Woodford Green A-Level Maths tutor, Woodford Green Primary Spanish tutor, Woodford Green Secondary Spanish tutor, Woodford Green GCSE Spanish tutor, Woodford Green A-Level Spanish tutor, Woodford Green Casual Learner Spanish tutor, Woodford Green Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Woodford Green Secondary Entrance Exams tutor