Derrick

Derrick

Private Maths and Physics Tutor in Walsall

I am retired and after retirement took Open University courses in Maths leading to a First Class Honours degree awarded 31/12/2009. My first degree was in Chemistry from Sheffield University, awarded 1960. I live with my wife and mother-in-law in Aldridge and have 3 children who have all left home. My main occupation at the moment is cooking and my main hobby is reading.

Tutoring Experience

I was a full time teacher for 27 years teaching mainly Chemistry to A-level but also Physics and Biology to O-level/GCSE.

Tutoring Approach

I have tutored very briefly in the past and my method has been very simple. I ask the tutee to describe their problem(s) and work on that/those. An outline of the background would be given first and then an example given of how to deal with the particular problem. This would then be followed by giving the tutee similar problems to solve and guiding if necessary to obtain a solution. My first 3 tutees (2011) have all obtained the A-level grades that they required and have taken up University places that they had applied for. Unfortunately, for medical reasons, I am unable to travel until at least June 2013 although still able to tutor from my home.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Open University2009BachelorsBA Hons Mathematics
University of Sheffield1962PGCECert Ed
University of Sheffield1960BachelorsB.Sc Hons Chemistry

Derrick's Feedback

Feedback
4
Published feedback
4
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Derrick
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
50% discount on your first lesson!