Information About Derek - Redditch tutor

Profile Picture

Derek's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Derek:





Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Derek (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a recently retired teacher with 40 years experience in main stream high schools. I have taught English, Drama, Art, Art History, History, IT, PE.
I enjoy playing tennis and golf, oil painting and playing the guitar.
I am married with 2 grown up daughters and my wife is also an English tutor. We enjoy camping holidays in France

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught successfully to A level and GCSE in schools. This has involved coaching and individual mentoring to ensure the highest possible outcomes. I now wish to use my teaching skills to help and support adults in English as an additional language.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a flexible and friendly approach to one-to-one tutoring. Lessons are normally once a week for 1 hour sessions. They can take place at my home or I am willing to travel up to 5 miles (approx.) to a student's home.
After an initial assessment, I will plan a programme of lessons to meet the individual needs of the pupil at the appropriate. I encourage the students to use the English they already have and through conversation and instruction they will improve communication skills. Also some grammar work is included if required required or requested. Communicating well is the key! First taster lesson free !


  • Birmingham University (1985) - Degree (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Carnegie Leeds University (1973) - Teaching Certificate (College) (✔ On File)
  • AEB Exam board (1970) - A Level Art (School) (✔ On File)
  • Carnegie College (1970) - Art (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Redditch English (Foreign Language) tutor, Redditch Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor