Skip to main content

Information About David - Castletown tutor -

Profile Picture

David's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated David:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

David offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for David

Personal Description:

I am 59 years old and married with 3 children, 29, 25 and 22 years old, eldest has a Masters degree in Physics, the 25 year old has a History degree and the youngest has a MChem 1st Class degree studied at York University. I live in Port Erin, Isle of Man and recently, successfully completed 32 years in the Royal Navy as an Aircraft Engineering Officer, serving in Iraq and Falkland Islands. I have many interests including keep fit, canoeing and motorcycling, plus mathemagic tricks.

Tutoring Experience:

Since my early years with the Sea Cadets I instructed fellow cadets in many varied subjects ranging from rope splicing to communications, parade training and PT. During my Service with the RN I instructed full time in mechancial engineering science. I then taught in my own time GCSE Maths and Physics over a 25 year period, obtaining a 100% pass rate at grade C or above. I have also qualified as a kayak, caving, hill walking, rock climbing and sailing instructor, therefore able to teach both academic and body skill subjects.

Tutoring Approach:

My aim is to work “one-to-one” or “one to a few” with a student or students in order to pass across to him/her their highest levels of skill & confidence in the agreed topic(s). However, for such tuition to be successful, it is essential that the student has the desire and willingness to learn, for without such a commitment, little or no progress may be achieved. If this is the case, then my mentoring skills will become most useful to progress through the “jungle”. Of equal importance is the need for encouragement and support from the student’s parents or guardian. Confidentiality is maintained at all times. Major emphasis is placed on topics that the student is finding difficult. The opportunity is then taken to explain the topic from all angles, using my “toolbox” of knowledge and experience, using practical examples from my engineering background and life skills. At all times, I treat the student as an adult; a student is never talked down to or patronised. I encourage the student to ask many questions and discuss the subject matter at all times. By mutual agreement, I set additional work for the student to tackle at home on his/her own, which should then be presented for relevant marking, constructive comments and feedback.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Douglas, IOM (2010) - Cert in Lifelong Learning (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • RNEC,Plymouth (1982) - Naval Engineering (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Broadway School (1977) - A Level Maths (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Broadway School (1977) - A Level Physics (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Castletown Maths tutor, Castletown Physics tutor, Castletown Primary Maths tutor, Castletown Secondary Maths tutor, Castletown GCSE Maths tutor, Castletown A-Level Maths tutor, Castletown University Maths tutor, Castletown Casual Learner Maths tutor, Castletown Primary Physics tutor, Castletown Secondary Physics tutor, Castletown GCSE Physics tutor, Castletown A-Level Physics tutor, Castletown University Physics tutor, Castletown Casual Learner Physics tutor