Skip to main content

Information About David - Canterbury tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

David's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated David:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

David offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£27.00
Secondary £30.00£27.00

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£27.00
Secondary £30.00£27.00

History

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£22.50

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00£27.00
13 Plus £30.00£27.00

Map Location

Map for David (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I've been a successful tutor and writer about the 11+ tests, and Key Stage 2 maths and English, for many years.
As a literacy consultant and 11+ professional, tutoring delivers the flexibility I need rather than working in the classroom all the time. I am young enough to relate to primary age children but old enough to have had plenty of experience! I'm offering my prime skills but if there are other elements of tuition you are interested in I may well be able to help. In my non-teaching life I try to spend as much time as possible with my young daughters, while I spend a lot of time in the countryside, I play the guitar and write songs and enjoy quizzes.
I've published all my feedback so hopefully that should show that I'm reliable and get the job done well!

Tutoring Experience:

I am a qualified and experienced teacher who has worked with the entrance systems to both Kent and Lancashire senior schools - independent and state grammar - for many years. I write freelance and edit for Rising Stars, a market-leader in primary education. I produce papers and how-to information for parents for the top 11+ website (Education Quizzes) and am a question-setter for an academy which teaches to the CEM tests. Most of my teaching has been at top independent preparatory schools and I spent several years organising the Kent Test (11+) preparations at one. In a recent post I worked as a year six teacher and every child in my class reached the school they were realistically aiming for. I will happily work with children of any age although most of my teaching has been to ages 9-13.
I know the primary curriculum very well, have taught to the independent Common Entrance and I can help children with special needs as long as I'm made fully aware of special requirements before starting work. I will happily support high-flyers and those needing a boost.

Tutoring Approach:

I treat each child as an individual and relish the challenge of helping each boy or girl achieve their targets. I have an excellent rapport with children and all those I teach feel that I am very approachable, easy to talk to, kind and caring. Parents of tutees I have worked with are happy with the service I have provided and appreciate the depth of feedback I can provide if required. I will be very honest with everyone concerned and will never waste your time by promising the impossible! If you have a set curriculum requirement I will work with whatever text books you like, otherwise I will provide my own approach to teaching things in a way that each child may find novel and therefore helpful.

Qualifications:

  • Christ Church University College, Canterbury (1999) - BA (hons); PGCE (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • UEA (1995) - BA (hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Canterbury Maths tutor, Canterbury English tutor, Canterbury History tutor, Canterbury Entrance Exams tutor, Canterbury Primary Maths tutor, Canterbury Secondary Maths tutor, Canterbury Primary English tutor, Canterbury Secondary English tutor, Canterbury Primary History tutor, Canterbury Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Canterbury Secondary Entrance Exams tutor