Daniel

Daniel

Aberdeen Tutor

A Master of Mathematics graduate from UEA in Norwich, with a year studying in Melbourne Australia. I have great experience tutoring with various age groups and personalities.

I have enjoyed tutoring part time and full time for the past few years whilst learning a Postgraduate Diploma course since University. I was subsequently contracted in by a local college to provide individual and group tutoring sessions to underachieving students, during and after school.

Tutoring Experience

I started tutoring GCSE maths in Year 13, providing a very structured learning by my school. The students engaged well and it helped to have people of a similar age that the students could relate to, enabling a more relaxed learning atmosphere. I also informally helped peers of various levels whilst at university, maths students but also engineering and foundation levels. When my services were required in a particular area, then they asked for help on short notice.

On top of this I've been tutoring over the past 6 years, usually working 7 days a week from the new year onward. Peak hours ranged in excess of 40hrs of tutoring for several months. I've therefore assessed the likely weaknesses of a student and have already provided and perfected methods of explanation.

Tutoring Approach

Can look at casual tutoring of areas of difficulty, or can do more structured learning of a curriculum, either intense learning or weekly troubleshooting. I've established good quality material for any level. Plenty of students just require good material and direction for their efforts.

The first meeting will be free with the aim of getting to know one another and the strengths and weaknesses of the tutee, and at what pace the student requires. At which point a structured plan of action can be drawn up. In some cases the tutee may lack the confidence in areas, but can in fact do what's required. Even a casual troubleshooting session every now and then can set their worries at rest.

Should extracurricular material be required or wanted then I'll be happy to provide. This material might not be hard for the tutee, but will help link in various areas of mathematics and will require a little thought about the patterns seen.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh.2016MastersPetroleum Engineering (Distance Learning).
University Of East Anglia, Norwich.2011MastersMathematics With A Year In Australia.
Ivybridge Community College.2007SchoolA Levels: Maths (A), Further Maths (B), Maths Advanced Extension Award (Merit), Physics (B), Geography (C).

Daniel's Feedback

Feedback
16
Published feedback
16
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Daniel
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Secondary£20
GCSE£20
A-Level£20
Casual Learner£30