Skip to main content

Information About Daniel - Coombe (Kingston) tutor -

Profile Picture

Daniel's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Daniel:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Latin

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Greek (Ancient)

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Personal Description:

I am a third-year Ph.D. student in Classics at U.C. Berkeley; I have a Masters degree in Greek and Latin Languages and Literature from Oxford University, from where I also received my B.A. in Classics. To date I have publications in two peer-reviewed journals pertaining to classical studies.

During my time studying Classics, my main strength has been in the linguistic side of my courses, and I am thus well equipped to provide tuition in Greek and Latin languages at all levels. I also specialise in the more technical disciplines of classical studies, such as papyrology, palaeography, and textual criticism, all of which complement the study of ancient languages especially well.

** Currently I am only available for online tuition. **
My tutees have found online tuition via Skype to be just as effective as a face-to-face meeting. In case you are unsure whether online sessions will work for you/your child, I can apply a 40% discount to the first session.

Tutoring Experience:

See below for feedback from some of my tutees.

Areas I have taught previously include: elementary and advanced Greek; elementary, intermediate, and advanced Latin (including preparation for scholarship exams); Greek prose composition at university level; Latin prose composition at all levels; translation and commentary of Cicero and Catullus. I am familiar with the Cambridge Latin Course and the current GCSE set texts.

Aside from private tuition, I taught elementary and intermediate Latin for a short time at Marymount International School (a private all-girls school in London), which involved working with students on a one-to-one basis and in large classes. I am, moreover, currently employed as a GSI (Graduate Student Instructor) at Berkeley, where I am teaching undergraduate seminars on Latin grammar and literature.

Recent success stories include: a GCSE student who was able to achieve a high A grade after getting a D in his mock exams; an international undergraduate student whose quality of work went from an F grade to an A grade; and a student at secondary-school who is now in the top set of Latin after scoring close to 100% in his end-of-year exams.

Tutoring Approach:

I aim to give my tutees an in-depth understanding of all the required aspects of Latin and Greek grammar, and to reinforce their learning with translation exercises and rigorous analyses of how each word in a sentence relates to others. I am, moreover, very interested in etymology (the study of the origin of words), and encourage tutees to appreciate the linguistic links between Latin/Greek and English in order to learn vocabulary items with much greater speed and efficiency.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Oxford University (2014) - MSt Greek and Latin Languages and Literature (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Oxford University (2013) - BA Literae Humaniores (Classics) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Coombe (Kingston) Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Greek (Ancient) tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Primary Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Secondary Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) GCSE Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) A-Level Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) University Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Casual Learner Latin tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Primary Greek (Ancient) tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Secondary Greek (Ancient) tutor, Coombe (Kingston) GCSE Greek (Ancient) tutor, Coombe (Kingston) A-Level Greek (Ancient) tutor, Coombe (Kingston) University Greek (Ancient) tutor, Coombe (Kingston) Casual Learner Greek (Ancient) tutor