Skip to main content

Information About Dale - Edinburgh tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Dale's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dale:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Dale offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £32.50
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Map Location

Map for Dale (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

As a postgraduate and former scientist, I have been tutoring science subjects for over 9 years now. I am an easy going, down to earth person with a natural flare for teaching. I really enjoy helping people to understand difficult concepts and I've always found science captivating. I am the kind of person who is willing to go above and beyond to help if I am able to. I have experience with young people of all ages, from creche to holiday clubs and leading teenagers at summer camps.

Tutoring Experience:

I have enjoyed studying science at university level for over 8 years, during which time I was also involved in teaching undergraduate students in labs and tutorials. Since then I've held a post in a pharmaceutical lab developing cancer therapies, as well as teaching chemistry, physics and biology in secondary schools. I studied for a PGDE to become a secondary school chemistry teacher in 2010 (but had to end the course early due to severe morning sickness). As such, I have been able to practice and develop a variety of teaching methods and I'm up to date with the relevant exam board course outcomes and requirements. Over the past 9 years, I have professionally tutored many students, covering the following Scottish Qualifications Authority courses: Standard Grade, Intermediate 2, National 5, Higher, Revised Higher, Advanced Higher and Revised Advanced Higher Chemistry, Higher Human Biology and first year University level Biochemistry. About 70% of my students have achieved at least 2 or 3 grade jumps since they started tutorials with me.

I have several positive references and a CRB enhanced disclosure, which will be available to view on request.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a friendly approach to tutoring. I like my students to feel at ease so that they are able to ask me anything. I'm of the mind set that no question is too silly to ask. My tutorials are structured and tailored around the individual student. Depending on the time we have available before an exam/test, we will identify key areas that the student experiences difficulty with and work through them addressing Knowledge & Understanding and Problem Solving, both of which are key to achieving the individual's desired grade. I endeavour to cover all topics of the course if we are able to, as I often find that there are areas that a student realises they are not up to scratch on once we start to revise. I create personalised worksheets for my students and we spend a lot of time going through past papers, as well as developing exam/study technique.

As tutition progresses, I have witnessed a huge increase in the confidence that every one of my students hold in their own ability to problem solve as well as understand their given course work. I have often had comments from students and parents that I make things easy to understand and that the student is actually enjoying their course a lot more since commencing tutoring. I try to make myself available as much as possible to answer queries from tutees by e-mail or text, especially in the run up to class tests or exams.

Here's what one of my previous tutees had to say: "Dale tutored me throughout my Higher Chemistry course and I honestly could not have got an A without her! She managed to explain the complex concepts essential to understanding chemistry in a way that I could relate to real life. She was always supportive and motivated me to do well. She was always flexible and able to fit in between my busy schedule. Even now when I have issues with my course work at Medical school I know I could drop her an e-mail with questions and she would be more than happy to help out. Overall Dale is fantastic, if you want a good grade whilst having fun she is your best bet!" - Eilidh Simpson.

All of my preparation time (typically 2 hours per session), travel time and travel expenses are included in the hourly rate. I prefer not to travel more than 7 miles from home but will still be happy to consider this.

Qualifications:

  • St. Andrews University (2008) - PhD in Structural Chemistry, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Heriot Watt University (2002) - 2:1 BSc Biochemistry (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh University Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner Chemistry tutor