Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


I am 41 years old and a graduate of Oxford University. I nearly 20 years' experience working as a tutor in Oxfordshire, which has included teaching learners from many different backgrounds and cultures from age 7 to 83.

My approach is based on my being sensitive to the particular needs of the learner. I am naturally patient and take care to establish a good working relationship.

Tutoring Experience

I am particularly experienced in teaching teenagers for GCSE and A level preparation as well as Common Entrance.

I have nearly 20 years' experience in tutoring. Some of my students have required assistance with study skills, as a basis for success in other areas of the school syllabus. Some are dyslexic or exhibit dyscalculia. Other students have the skills to do well but lack the motivation, and in these cases I attempt to provide inspiration.

I have also worked extensively with adult learners, both in language learning and mathematics and economics.

Tutoring Approach

I expect homework to be completed between lessons and expect hard work and good attention to detail.

In teaching English, I focus on correct self-expression, grammar, punctuation and creative use of vocabulary.

In teaching Maths, I explain clearly and believe in simply doing maths and repeating it until familiarity makes it seem easier.

In teaching Economics, I work with students on knowing the syllabus, writing stylish essays and relating theory to the real world (which adds interest).

In teaching French and German I work on correct pronunciation as the basis for listening as well as speaking skills and I promote a knowledge of grammar rules for constructing correct sentences.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Chinese, French, German, Latin
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File


Oxford University2002BachelorsPhilosophy Politics and Economics
Victoria Training Course for the Alexander Technique2009ProfessionalMSTAT

Colin's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references


Click here for more German tutors