Clare

Clare

Swanage Tutor

I have five children aged 19 to 39 My hobbies include horse riding, swimming, music, reading and needle work. I trained and worked as a lifeguard and an Aqua Aerobic Instructor and now like to keep myself fit by walking in the Purbecks with our dog.

Tutoring Experience

I have over 35 years experience of teaching children aged 3-11, both 1-1 and in a classroom situation as well as teaching English as a second language to adults and children up to Advanced level.

In recent years I have taught EFL at an Outdoor Education Centre to groups of students aged 11-14, and have welcomed home stay students into our home, teaching English 1-1, tailor making courses to fit the individual needs of each student.

Whilst teaching in my own Nursery school, I acted as Education Consultant to the Shane English school in Taipei in 1997 . My visits there involved the planning of an English curriculum for children aged 3-6. for whom English was their second language. I also ran language tuition classes for the teachers. I now home tutor children of all ages in Maths and English, and continue to teach English as a second language.

Tutoring Approach

I'm a lively, friendly teacher with a good sense of humour. I aim to provide lessons that are fun, imaginative and challenging, believing that students learn best when they are motivated and eager.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Christchurch College Canterbury1975CollegeCert Ed

Clare's Feedback

Feedback
4
Published feedback
4
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Clare
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£20
English
Primary£20
Secondary£20
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£20
Secondary£20
Casual Learner£20