Skip to main content

Information About Christine - Wimborne tutor -

Profile Picture

Christine's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Christine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Secondary £28.00£26.60
GCSE £30.00£28.50
Casual Learner £28.00£26.60

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Casual Learner £28.00£26.60

French

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75

German

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Secondary £28.00£26.60

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£23.75
Casual Learner £28.00£26.60

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00£23.75

Map Location

Map for Christine

Personal Description:

I am a qualified teacher and mother of two daughters. I have worked as a home tutor for over 25 years and offer tuition in my own home, where I have a study with a large desk, a pc and a printer and all resources to hand. I have a first degree, a masters degree and a PGCE qualification in Modern Languages but retrained to teach Mathematics. I am a Level 5 Maths Specialist with a recently updated Mathematics qualification from Southampton University. I offer this subject to GCSE level. I also offer Functional Skills Maths up to Level 2, Primary English, SATs and 11+ tuition and Adult Numeracy, Literacy and IT. I have more recently offered job application and interview skills support. I am currently working as a Year 5 Primary School teacher, focusing on Maths, English, IT, French and German.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked as a home tutor for over 25 years, and have extensive experience in schools, colleges and adult learning. As a home tutor, I have taught Primary Maths and English, for SATs and 11+ entrance exams, lower secondary Maths, GCSE Maths, German and French and Adult Maths. I have taught ICT, English and Maths at college and to adult Learndirect learners and have also supported adults with specific learning needs, such as dyslexia and dyscalculia. I have worked in a number of different secondary schools as a teacher of German and French and also ran a successful German Department for 7 years. I am currently combining my home tuition work with two part-time jobs: as a Year 5 Primary Teacher and a KS2/KS3 1:1 and small group Middle School Maths Tutor . I am also able to offer support to adults with job applications, associated IT skills, and interviews.

Tutoring Approach:

Before I start to tutor, I will always find out what the parent and/or tutee hopes to achieve through the lessons with me, whether this is to pass an exam, improve in confidence, go up a set in school, understand a particular area of the subject, or all of these. I also find out what particular methods of learning the tutee prefers. For example, many students enjoy games and computer activities to aid their learning. For younger students I usually use reward charts for good effort and achievement.

My students and I enjoy the lessons and they invariably gain in confidence, and most often achieve their targets.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Southampton University (2013) - Mathematics (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Poole Adult Learning (2007) - Mathematics (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Reading University School of Education (1988) - Secondary Modern Languages (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Lancaster University (1983) - German Studies (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Wimborne Maths tutor, Wimborne English tutor, Wimborne French tutor, Wimborne German tutor, Wimborne Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Wimborne Entrance Exams tutor, Wimborne Primary Maths tutor, Wimborne Secondary Maths tutor, Wimborne GCSE Maths tutor, Wimborne Casual Learner Maths tutor, Wimborne Primary English tutor, Wimborne Casual Learner English tutor, Wimborne Primary French tutor, Wimborne Primary German tutor, Wimborne Secondary German tutor, Wimborne Primary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Wimborne Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Wimborne Primary Entrance Exams tutor