Information About Chris - Hillingdon tutor -
(7 reviews)

Profile Picture

Chris's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Chris:





Subjects Taught

Chris offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
A-Level £50.00
University £60.00
Casual Learner £60.00

Map Location

Map for Chris (Mr)


Personal Description:

Hello fellow mathematicians!

I'm Chris, a 25 year old maths PhD student at Brunel University. If you're having difficulty with your Core, Statistics, Mechanics or Decision modules at A-level, or perhaps you're finding the transition from A-level to University challenging, then I'm your guy.


I studied for my Bachelors and Masters degree in maths at the University of Sheffield, achieving a First Class Degree with Honours. I am currently half way through the process of achieving my Doctorate.

Having passed the Graduate Learning Teaching Programme I am now an associate fellow in teaching.


I am what they call a combinatorist. My area of research is graph theory. So far I have written four papers (yet to be published) with my supervisor. If you're interested in finding out more about my research then drop me an message.

Tutoring Experience:

For the past two academic years I have taught many seminars for Foundation, 1st and 2nd year undergraduates at Brunel University. These have ranged from 10-100 students per seminar. The modules for which I have been the seminar leader for are listed below.

Level 0: MA0490 Study Skills, MA0422 Discrete and Decision Mathematics

Level 1: MA1819 Mathematical and Computational Skills (Arithmetic, Trigonometry and Algebra), MA1712 Fundamentals of Mathematics, MA1720 Linear Algebra, MA1711 Calculus, MA1770 Probability and Statistics, MA1870 Probability and Statistics 1

Level 2: MA2721 Linear Methods, LATEX

I also taught the second year Linear Algebra seminar at the University of Sheffield for one semester.

Whilst in 6th form and during my undergraduate years I often went back to my secondary school to help out in the maths department and in doing so have formed a great relationship with the head of department there (one of my references).

Tutoring Approach:

I have been a private tutor for two years now. Since I only graduated three years ago, I understand and can relate to difficulties students may face. With this in mind, I can offer the best form of tutoring in a way that I feel would have definitely helped me. The examination boards which I am most familiar with are OCR, AQA, Edexcel and MEI.

I usually provide the first half hour COMPLETELY FREE because in this time I will be getting to know the tutee, along with their struggles and strengths in order to form a teaching schedule, and I don`t feel that it is fair to charge somebody for this non-teaching time. We could of course do this introduction over the phone to save unnecessary travelling.

My rates are not just randomly picked out of thin air, these take into account the preparation time and costs of resources which contribute to making the actual tuition time run smoothly.

Please don't hesitate to contact me, even if you're just curious how these kind of things work.


  • University of Sheffield (2013) - First Class with Honours (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hillingdon Maths tutor, Hillingdon A-Level Maths tutor, Hillingdon University Maths tutor, Hillingdon Casual Learner Maths tutor