Charles Lowick

Charles Lowick

Malpas Tutor

I was born on 29-11-1957. I have been teaching in Britain for over 35 years, both as a classroom teacher and a private tutor. I have taught many subjects, to students of various ages and abilities, public and private sector. I have an infectious enthusiasm which most children respond well to. I take a genuine interest in the families I work with many remaining friends long after the tutoring has finished. I am flexible and adaptable, a giver not a taker. I believe in a healthy mind in a healthy body. I take regular exercise; if I'm by myself I enjoy walking or swimming and with others I enjoy tennis, football, cricket, table tennis etc. I don't smoke and I watch my diet!

Tutoring Experience

FE Lecturer 1979-1997. Supply Teacher since 2001
Long term placements in the last four years include teaching,-
Business, Media Studies, English as a Second Language at St Michael's College 1-9-11 to 1-5-12
Health and Social Care at Thomas Alleyne's High School, Uttoxeter 14-3-11 to 8-4-11
Business and ICT at Abbotsholme School 1-2-2010 to 31-3-2010
RE and Citizenship at Wolstanton High School 1-1-2010 to 31-1-2010
History and ICT at Hagley Park Sports College 1-4-09 to 1-7-09
Business and ICT at Cheslyn Hay Sport and Community High School 1-1-08 to 1-7-08
Maths and Science at The Jigsaw School, Telford 1-9-07 to 14-12-07
Mid-Cheshire College of FE P/t Lecturer in IT 1988-1997
NEWI Wrexham P/t Lecturer Commerce 1981-1994
Llysfasi College, Ruthin P/t Lecturer in IT 1990-1992
North Shropshire College P/t Lecturer in IT 1986-1988
Stoke Heath Youth Custody Centre P/t Tutor - Chess 1984-1986
Crewe & Alsager College P/t Lecturer Statistics 1985-1986
Chester College of FE P/t Lecturer in General Studies 1979-1981

Tutoring Approach

I take a client-centred approach, finding out about their needs and then meeting it. I have a massive experience of private tuition, many teaching children, both primary and secondary. Maths is the main subject I have taught, but I have also taught English. I have taught older clients how to use their computers, and I taught English as a Second Language to some clients. I give discounts prepared to pay in cash (as opposed to cheque or bank transfer).

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University College North Wales1994Mastersin-Service MEd
Crewe & Alsager College1985CollegeIn-Service BEd
Crewe & Alsager College1982College730 Teachers' Certificate
Sheffield University1975Bachelors2:2 Honours degree Politics

Charles Lowick's Feedback

Feedback
9
Published feedback
8
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Charles Lowick
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£31
Secondary£31
GCSE£31
English
Primary£31
Secondary£31
GCSE£31
History
Primary£31
Secondary£31
GCSE£31
Casual Learner£31
Business Related
Primary£31
Secondary£31
GCSE£31
A-Level£31
Casual Learner£31
Economics
Primary£31
Secondary£31
GCSE£31
A-Level£31
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£31
Secondary£31
GCSE£31
A-Level£31
University£31
Casual Learner£31