Skip to main content

Information About Catherine - Kettering tutor -
(2 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Catherine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Catherine (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a French national and have been a UK resident since 1993. I am married with two teenage children and two Thai cats. I enjoy eating in and out with my friends, good films, knitting, reading, walking.

Tutoring Experience:

I first worked as a French assistant in 1993, then qualified to become a teacher with a PGCE in Modern Languages in 1994. I taught French and German for a few years before starting a family.
In September 1998, I started to work as a self employed French tutor and translator and, in June 1999, I became an examiner and moderator for AQA (something which I still do today, despite the very large fall in candidate numbers).
I have taught people from all ages and levels, from young children to retirees. I have also taught in businesses. As an examiner, I am very well placed to know what is currently expected from the exam boards in order to achieve particular grades and I have the skills to teach students towards this grade.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a friendly and relaxed approach with students, who often find languages very intimidating, especially the speaking element. I am, however, equally professional and organised in my work and like to see the students I teach make good, rapid progress.
As a native and qualified speaker, I am able to teach the right pronunciation and the correct grammar as well as really strech the students at higher levels.
I do believe in a more grammatical approach, which enables the student to truly understand the workings of the language and then gives him/her the freedom to express what they really want to say, and not just to repeat the phrases from a book.
I can teach in the evening and week-ends from the Kettering/Corby/Market Harborough area (at an extra charge of 50p per mile) and during the day, from the Kingsthorpe/Northampton area.

Qualifications:

  • Portsmouth University (1995) - PGCE in Modern Languages (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Department for Education (1995) - Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • Universite de Nancy 2 (1993) - Licence d'Anglais mention FLE (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Lycee des Recollets, Longwy (1989) - Baccalaureat A2 (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: French
Additional Languages: English (British), German, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Kettering French tutor, Kettering Primary French tutor, Kettering Secondary French tutor, Kettering GCSE French tutor, Kettering A-Level French tutor, Kettering University French tutor, Kettering Casual Learner French tutor