Skip to main content

Information About Catherine - Aylesbury tutor -

References

This is how 3 referees rated Catherine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

"Former A Level examiner, English lecturer and published author with a down to earth approach to teaching."

I have excellent academic qualifications, including a PhD, Masters and BA in English from University College London (UCL) and am also a published academic author. As a former A Level examiner for one of the major examining boards, I am well versed in current exam requirements and I have 100% record of A and A* grades with my tutees, working with students of all abilities to get them the best results in their examinations.

Although I have worked as a lecturer at the UK's top institutions, I enjoy working with students of all abilities and backgrounds and am a sympathetic and patient teacher who loves to share their passion for English, no matter the age of the student!

I hold a current Enhanced DBS certificate.

Tutoring Experience:

I worked at UCL for 4 years while completing my PhD, teaching across the English undergraduate syllabus. In my private tutoring work I have specialised in preparing students for GCSE/A Level English examination, as well as supervising students with university dissertations across a broad range of humanities subjects.

I have also worked on a long term basis with a number of students where English is a second language, and enjoy helping students with elocution, advanced English conversation, and preparation for the IELTS exam.

Tutoring Approach:

I teach from my home in Stoke Mandeville to create a quiet, focused environment and usually work with students long-term to get the best results from our sessions but can also offer Skype sessions to those not able to travel, and intensive pre-exam sessions for those looking for last minute support or re-taking exams. I tutor from GCSE level upwards to postgraduate students, Masters dissertation supervision, proof reading etc. but am also happy to work with casual adult learners who want to cultivate their love of literature.

I am usually flexible in terms of my availability and can offer regular daytime sessions for home schooled students, as well as the more traditional after school/evening slots. Please feel free to contact me to have an initial discussion about your needs and my current availability.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • UCL (2008) - English (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Aylesbury English tutor, Aylesbury English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury GCSE English tutor, Aylesbury A-Level English tutor, Aylesbury University English tutor, Aylesbury Casual Learner English tutor, Aylesbury GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Aylesbury Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor