Skip to main content

Information About Caroline - Sutton Coldfield tutor -

Profile Picture

Caroline's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Caroline:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I live in a small cottage near Sutton Coldfield and have a separate studio for teaching; or a beautiful garden for outdoors lessons if the weather is nice. I have two boys who are 19 and 16 respectively. My eldest boy passed for King Edwards as a result of my help.
We have a big, white, friendly, blue eyed husky who likes to greet the children with a howl and then generally leaves us alone!

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored both of my boys successfully for entrance exams for grammar school using Bond practice papers in verbal reasoning, non verbal reasoning,comprehension and mathematics.
I have been tutoring children at Primary/Junior school level now since 2008 and have thoroughly enjoyed working with children at this level. My students are usually year 4, 5 and 6; some working towards passing entrance exams (year 5) and others just wanting to improve their Maths and English. I usually see a major improvement in their capabilities within two lessons!
By day I am an English teacher and South and City College in Birmingham. I teach English as a foreign language to International adult students. I also teach Maths and ICT.
I have also tutored with Kip McGrath who offer group tutoring to children at various centres around the Birmingham area.

Tutoring Approach:

I take a very relaxed approach to my tutoring, and try to provide an informal but stimulating environment. I have a fantastic range of teaching material to hand and my students enjoy their lessons.
I like to assess each child during their first/second lessons and this enables me to fix a starting point and to concentrate on areas that may need specific help. With this in mind, each child has their own individual learning programme established right at the beginning of their learning experience.
I am a very friendly teacher and am able to build excellent rapport with my pupils; it's amazing how quickly their confidence (which is key) grows after only a few lessons. I also tend to get feedback quite quickly via parents as to how they are improving at school too.
I prefer to tutor from home because I feel the children work better in a different environment and they love the outside studio and I also have all my resources to hand!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Handsworth City College (2005) - Advanced Diploma in Eng Lang Teaching with subject spec. (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Handsworth City College (2003) - CELTA in Eng Lang Teaching (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sutton College (1981) - A Level English (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Sutton Coldfield Maths tutor, Sutton Coldfield English tutor, Sutton Coldfield Entrance Exams tutor, Sutton Coldfield Primary Maths tutor, Sutton Coldfield Primary English tutor, Sutton Coldfield Primary Entrance Exams tutor