Skip to main content

Information About Camilla - Islington tutor -

Profile Picture

Camilla's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Camilla:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00
Secondary £80.00
Casual Learner £80.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00
Secondary £80.00
University £100.00
Casual Learner £80.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £70.00
13 Plus £80.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
Secondary £80.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00
Secondary £80.00
Casual Learner £80.00

Map Location

Map for Camilla

Personal Description:

A highly recommended and experienced 31 year old tutor, I have worked as a tutor for over ten years with great success.

My current prices reflect my high demand as a tutor. Most of my tutees come to me through word-of-mouth recommendation, or are the siblings of past students. I specialise in tutoring towards the London 11+ examinations; particularly for the following schools: Highgate, Channing, City of London, South Hampstead, Francis Holland, Henrietta Barnett, Latymer, Dame Alice Owen, Queens, North Bridge House, Forest, among others.

Last year, I taught eight students towards the 11+ examination and two towards the 7+ exam. All my students achieved excellent results (with the vast majority getting into every school they applied to) and all have grown in confidence and enjoyment of the core subjects. Two of my 11+ students received full academic scholarships to top North London private schools.

Additionally, I helped a university student achieve a 1st Class Honours degree in English literature from Bristol University, and countless other students expand their knowledge base, grow confident in their writing and mathematical skills, and reap the rewards of academic success.

My strengths as a tutor lies in my long experience of teaching, as well as my own writing, communication, organisational skills. I have a large number of resources (academic books, secondary sources and past papers) to use with students. I makes lessons as fun, engaging and interactive as possible, getting to know the individual learning styles of my students and basing lessons around what would teach them the most.

I have an excellent academic record myself. I gained an 11+ scholarship to City of London School for Girls; 9 A*s at GCSE level; 4 A's at A level and the highest 1st Class BA Honours degree in English Literature from the University of Warwick in 2009. As well as tutoring, I work as a Learning Designer, creating online training courses for clients - another form of teaching! I am passionate about making learning fun and engaging.

Due to high demand, I can only teach students who are able to travel to me. Weekday evenings and weekends are all possible - I am flexible with lesson times and usually arrange these with parents on a week-by-week basis.

Tutoring Experience:

I have ten years worth of tutoring experience, and have taught a large number of students, from primary to A Level, PGCE level and adult learners. I specialise in examination preparation, particularly towards the 11+ examinations for central London private schools (Highgate, Channing, City of London, South Hampstead, Francis Holland, Henrietta Barnett, Latymer, Dame Alice Owen, Queens, North Bridge House, Forest, among others).

I work systematically with tutees to help strengthen their skills and cover any gaps in their knowledge. I have access to a large number of academic resources in order to help tutees with revision, coursework and exam preparation.

I also help build up the confidence of my tutees to put them in the strongest position for passing exams and gaining the best possible marks. Many students struggle with unhelpful learning strategies for years; I have tried and tested methods for success.

A few of my students have achieved scholarships at 11+ level; if students show the potential to achieve academic scholarship, this is something I am able to bring about through methodical teaching. I also assist with interview preparation.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a very friendly, organised and supportive tutor. I make lessons as engaging, fun and interactive as possible - using visual aids, creative tools and utilising the child's ideas, whilst sticking firmly to the brief/curriculum. I believe that tutors should encourage children, understand what methods work for them, and help children develop their ideas. The educational process should be enjoyable and fulfilling, bolstering a child's confidence, while pushing them to realise their full academic potential.

I am able to adapt my approach to tutoring in order to suit the bespoke needs of my tutees. I build strong working relationships with my students and am flexible with lesson times, arranging these on a week-by-week basis with parents.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University of Warwick (2009) - 1st Class English Literature BA Honours from the University of Warwick (highest in the year). (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • City of London School for Girls (2005) - 4 As at A level in: English Literature, Mathematics, Psychology, Religious Studies. (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • City of London School for Girls (2003) - 9 A*s at GCSE level in: English Literature, English Language, Maths, History, German, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Religious Studies. (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • City of London School for Girls. (1998) - 11+ scholarship in English Literature and Mathematics to City of London School for Girls. (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Islington Maths tutor, Islington English tutor, Islington Entrance Exams tutor, Islington Special Needs tutor, Islington Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Islington Study Skills tutor, Islington Primary Maths tutor, Islington Secondary Maths tutor, Islington Casual Learner Maths tutor, Islington Primary English tutor, Islington Secondary English tutor, Islington University English tutor, Islington Casual Learner English tutor, Islington Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Islington Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Islington Primary Special Needs tutor, Islington Secondary Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Islington Primary Study Skills tutor, Islington Secondary Study Skills tutor, Islington Casual Learner Study Skills tutor