Skip to main content

Information About Calise - Clapham tutor

Profile Picture

Calise's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Calise:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00

Map Location

Map for Calise

Personal Description:

Currently a second year PhD student studying Chemical Biology at University College London (UCL) after graduating from UCL with a 1st class masters degree in Natural Sciences. Part time tutor amounting to 200+ hours of tutoring experience. Additionally, I have completed A2-Level Mathematics (A*), Chemistry (A), Biology (B), and AS-Level Physics (B), but have experience of teaching these subjects across multiple exam boards.

Studying intensively as a postgraduate, undergraduate, A-Level and GCSE student has highlighted various learning techniques that can be employed to help tutees achieve their desired grades in their exams to come. I understand that every peer along the way has had a different approach to learning and this will be reflected in the teaching material I prepare for my tutees.

Tutoring Experience:

During my time studying for my PhD I have had several tutees looking for tuition, with a large percentage happy with the tuition they received. Tutoring part time over this period has amounted to over 200 hours tutoring experience at GCSE, A-Level and University Level.

At sixth form I was solely selected from the student body as a candidate to teach students struggling with AS-Level mathematics. I was informed that this selection was based on a good mathematical ability, combined with warm and enthusiastic personality. While the experience was unpaid, it highlighted various teaching methods that worked effectively ensuring that these once "struggling" students passed and even exceeded their own expectation. Following this, I was approached by other students looking for help in Chemistry and Biology; with their results surpassing my own!

Tutoring Approach:

Throughout my studies I have tried and tested many learning and revision techniques. I truly believe each student is capable of learning almost any material once they have discovered the best method for them, which is achievable through correct guidance and persistence. Generally, I prefer to take a light hearted and upbeat approach to tutoring, as I find it imperative to find a balance between enjoying the subject while staying focused enough to achieve the goal.

Finally, I am enthusiastic about the topics I teach, which is something I aim to pass onto my tutees; as generally students who enjoy to the topic excel and have a fun time doing so!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University College London (2016) - 1st Class MSci (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Clapham Maths tutor, Clapham Physics tutor, Clapham Chemistry tutor, Clapham Biology tutor, Clapham Secondary Maths tutor, Clapham GCSE Maths tutor, Clapham A-Level Maths tutor, Clapham Secondary Physics tutor, Clapham GCSE Physics tutor, Clapham Secondary Chemistry tutor, Clapham GCSE Chemistry tutor, Clapham A-Level Chemistry tutor, Clapham University Chemistry tutor, Clapham Casual Learner Chemistry tutor, Clapham Secondary Biology tutor, Clapham GCSE Biology tutor, Clapham A-Level Biology tutor