Information About Beth - Leyburn tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Beth's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Beth:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Beth (Dr)


Personal Description:

I have a doctorate in English Literature and I am a fully qualified teacher with experience of teaching Secondary, A Level, Undergraduate and Primary English. I am currently semi-retired and I enjoy using my experience and skills to continue to help students to fulfil their potential and achieve their goals. I have experience working with pupils with a range of needs, including Specific Learning Difficulties, Social Communication Difficulties and Gifted and Talented Pupils. I have an excellent track record of raising achievement levels in all pupils I teach. This year, all of my tutees have improved their results by at least 2 grades. I am sensitive to students' needs, taking into account their specific goals to plan and deliver a targeted, personalised education programme. I have a good sense of humour and I am very empathetic person who takes a professional, personal and experienced approach to learning. I am constantly enthused by and interested in English literature and creative writing. I love my subject; by inspiring my students to develop a love of English I aspire to instil passion, belief and confidence in them so that they are able to reach their greatest potential.

Tutoring Experience:

Thirsk Secondary School: English Teacher
York and Durham University: Lecturer in English Literature
Durham University: Lecturer / tutor in English Education, PGCE Secondary and PGCE Primary Initial Teacher Training Programme (MA QTS Course Leader)
Range of experience in Primary Schools as teacher and 1:1 / small group tutor for range of pupils, including those with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities.
Teacher / Tutor on various Adult Education programmes including literacy skills development and creative writing workshops.

I qualified as a teacher in 1994 and have a range of experience from Primary level, Secondary, A Level, Undergraduate and Post Graduate degree level and Adult Education. I have taught in Primary and Secondary schools and lectured in English Literature at York and Durham University. I enjoy teaching and have an excellent success rate which is satisfying both for me and for my students.

Tutoring Approach:

I have had many years of successful experience working on a one to one level with students. I plan personalised provision programmes based on students' needs that are tailored to their specific learning goals. I dedicate a large amount of time outside of my teaching hours planning, assessing and preparing for my lessons in order to find the best 'way in' for my tutees. I enjoy using a range of strategies and methods to help students to find the ways they learn best; I foster this in my teaching and then help them to achieve their highest potential by building their confidence and skills.
I teach by building relationships and breaking down barriers to learning by adapting lessons to my students' preferred learning styles. I am very approachable and able to foster excellent learning relationships in a positive learning environment with all my students. I take exams very seriously and make it my mission to ensure that students acquire the very best results. I aim to build an ambitious, creative and enlightened approach to learning that works.

GCSE Results 2016; English Literature, English Language
B, A (Preidicted D, D)
C, B (Predicted D, D)
B, C (Predicted D, E)
All of these students are now able to go onto their chosen college and do not have the burden of resitting English Language GSCE.

I have also enabled A Level students to get into their chosen University by achieving the grades they needed for their Conditional Offer.
See below a recent comment from a parent of an A Level student who had 10 sessions before her Literature exam. This student managed to move from a low to mid B to an A -
"Just to let you know that 'E' has got into Edinburgh Uni - she got A* (Art), A (English) and A (History) - thank you so much for all your help with the English, I know that it made a real difference and helped 'E' enormously!"

My Primary School teaching experience has been extremely successful with pupils achieving Level 5 and above in English SATS from low starting points. In the New Curriculum I aim to secure a minimum of 2 levels progress per child over a period of 6 months.

I have also worked with Undergraduate Students, boosting their knowledge, understanding and confidence in English Literature in order to prepare them for their final coursework and exams.


  • Durham University (2003) - English Literature (20th C) (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • Durham University (2000) - English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Durham University (1994) - Englsih Literary Studies (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • College St John (Leeds University) (1993) - English and French (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leyburn English tutor, Leyburn Special Needs tutor, Leyburn Study Skills tutor, Leyburn Primary English tutor, Leyburn Secondary English tutor, Leyburn GCSE English tutor, Leyburn A-Level English tutor, Leyburn University English tutor, Leyburn Casual Learner English tutor, Leyburn Primary Special Needs tutor, Leyburn Secondary Special Needs tutor, Leyburn GCSE Special Needs tutor, Leyburn A-Level Special Needs tutor, Leyburn GCSE Study Skills tutor, Leyburn A-Level Study Skills tutor, Leyburn University Study Skills tutor, Leyburn Casual Learner Study Skills tutor