Skip to main content

Information About Berkeley - Lewisham tutor -

References

This is how 2 referees rated Berkeley:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £31.00
Secondary £32.50
GCSE £32.50
Casual Learner £32.50

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £31.00
Secondary £32.50
GCSE £32.50
Casual Learner £32.50

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £31.00
13 Plus £32.50

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £31.00
Secondary £32.50
GCSE £32.50

Map Location

Map for Berkeley

Personal Description:

Qualified secondary schооl teacher with Qualified Teacher Status and an up to date DBS check.

Currently tutoring children from Key Stage 2 to Key Stage 4 in English and Maths. For GCSE English and Maths, I am currently tutoring students for AQA English Language and Literature, and Edexcel Mathematics to Higher Tier. I am able to support all levels of numeracy and literacy and have specialist materials for children with Special Educational Needs especially Dyspraxia, Dyslexia, Autism, Asperger's Syndrome and English as An Additional Language.

Tutoring Experience:

For over 17 years I have been tutoring and classroom teaching students of all abilities. I have up to date teaching and learning resources to support the recent changes in the Key Stage 2, 3 and KS4 Curriculums. The new GCSE 9-1 Curriculums in English and Mathematics are more challenging as what is considered to be a good pass, i.e. a Grade 5, is the equivalent to a pre 2015 GCSE Grade B minus. GCSE students will now have to be taught to a former GCSE Grade B in order to get this result. Students will need to be worked up to the higher standards from earlier in KS3.

I have up to date resources for the KS2, Year 6 SATs in Maths, English and SPAG.

For KS3 English Language, Literature and Mathematics I have new resources to support students' preparation for new GCSE 9-1 curriculum.

For KS4 Maths, I am undergoing extensive specialist secondary Maths training from KS3 to KS5 which will to ensure I can deliver Maths teaching and tutoring to beyond a GCSE Grade 9. Next year I intend to specialise in A level Maths teaching. As I have a degree in Drama, I have been tutoring English Language and Literature to Higher Tier for a longer period.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to gain as much information as possible as to where the child is academically through their school reports and by listening to the parents concerns before I commence tutoring.

Specific goals and learning outcomes are outlined early in the tutoring arrangement. The child’s progress will be regularly assessed and parents will be kept informed of progress.

I welcome pupils of all abilities and strive to get them all to achieve their potentials. All my pupils have homework books, an organised folder and the expectation to undertake their homework weekly. Parents are kept up to date with their children’s learning and guidance is given as to how to further support their children’s learning between lessons.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: English (British), French, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Institute of Education, University of London (2010) - PGCE in Secondary Music (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • The Open University (2005) - MA Music (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Middlesex University (1987) - BA Combined Studies ALCM in Flute Performance (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Lewisham Maths tutor, Lewisham English tutor, Lewisham Entrance Exams tutor, Lewisham Special Needs tutor, Lewisham Primary Maths tutor, Lewisham Secondary Maths tutor, Lewisham GCSE Maths tutor, Lewisham Casual Learner Maths tutor, Lewisham Primary English tutor, Lewisham Secondary English tutor, Lewisham GCSE English tutor, Lewisham Casual Learner English tutor, Lewisham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Lewisham Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Lewisham Primary Special Needs tutor, Lewisham Secondary Special Needs tutor, Lewisham GCSE Special Needs tutor