Information About Barbara - Oxford tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Barbara's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Barbara:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Barbara (Miss)


Personal Description:

Ciao! My name is Barbara, I am currently a Ph.D. student with St. Peter’s College at the University of Oxford, where I am also a part-time lecturer in Italian Literature and Language Instructor in Italian.

I hold two degrees: an M.St. in Modern Languages from the University of Oxford and an M.A. in Modern Literature from the University of Cagliari, Italy.

Tutoring Experience:

My teaching experience is mainly with secondary school students (Italian GCSE- both boards Edexcel/AQA; A-levels )and university students. At the moment I work as a part-time Italian teacher in a private secondary school in Oxfordshire.
I also have extensive experience teaching Italian as a foreign language to children—at the moment I am working as Italian tutor in two private primary schools in Summertown, Oxford.
Before beginning my graduate studies at Oxford, I spent eight years working as a teacher in a private institute in Italy. The subjects I taught include Italian (grammar, syntax and literature from the medieval to modernist and contemporary age), Latin (language and literature), History, Philosophy, and Art.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is adaptive according to the specific needs of my students. I tend to follow a communicative method and from the first day of lessons and at each ability level I only speak Italian.
I put particular emphasis on spoken language and on communication, but also deal with the 4 base abilities (reading, writing, oral comprehension and speaking).
I design my lessons to always be interesting, interactive and fun, and I create a relaxed atmosphere in which learning is done naturally :) I use text books and other authentic material, like newspapers, magazines and video, to help facilitating learning about contemporary Italy and the many different aspects of Italian culture.


  • University of Oxford (2014) - MSt Modern Languages (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cagliari (2006) - MA Literature and Philosophy (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Italian
Additional Languages: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oxford Italian tutor, Oxford Latin tutor, Oxford Primary Italian tutor, Oxford Secondary Italian tutor, Oxford GCSE Italian tutor, Oxford A-Level Italian tutor, Oxford University Italian tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Italian tutor, Oxford Primary Latin tutor, Oxford Secondary Latin tutor, Oxford GCSE Latin tutor, Oxford A-Level Latin tutor, Oxford University Latin tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Latin tutor