Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


I am a dedicated and hard-working teacher/tutor of Classics, English, History, Philosophy, Religious Studies & Ethics and Italian. I have also been an examiner/assessor for GCSE and A-Levels in English and all areas of Classics (Greek, Latin, Classical Civilisation and Ancient History). As a result of this experience, I have gained valuable knowledge on how public exams are marked, which feeds back into my teaching and tutoring. I have taught for over 20 years at all levels, from primary to secondary as well as university and adult learners. My knowledge of Classical Greek and Latin as well as of ancient Philosophy and Classical Literature enhances and enriches my teaching of English, History and Philosophy. My approach towards teaching and tutoring is personable and professional. I enjoy helping my students work through difficult passages and grammatical concepts, and seeing them improve gradually. I adopt an interdisciplinary approach to learning, which involves archaeology, art, philosophy, ancient history, science and much more.

Tutoring Experience

I have taught in the UK now for over 10 years, and previously in the US for 11 years after completing degrees in Philosophy, Classics and Literature (Comparative Literature/ English), Ancient Greek and Latin in the US and Canada. I have been tutoring English, Classics, Philosophy, History and RS at all levels full-time for the past 5 years. I most recently taught at Bristol Grammar and Cheltenham College in Ancient Greek and Latin at GCSE and A-level, as well as Classical Civilisation. I previously taught at Latymer Upper School in London and at academies and state schools in southeast London and Leicester prior to this. I have taught English, Reading and Languages to students of all ages in the US and the UK, and have been tutoring privately in London and Gloucestershire for the past several years. My students and tutees have ranged from the primary level to 11 and 13+ entry, home-schooling at all levels, GCSE preparation and re-sits (English, Philosophy, Classics), A-Levels and University support (exam and essay preparation and support). I have also taught Classics at university level, whilst working on my PhD studies at Indiana University, the University of Leicester and Exeter.

Tutoring Approach

A Member of The Tutors' Association, I am meticulous and organised in preparation for my lessons, using feedback from tests and marked work to tailor future lessons. I am a good listener and enjoy giving my students activities and problems to work through after brief lessons and introductions to new topics and concepts. I believe learning should be fun so I try to include as much variety and creativity in all activities during lessons and tutoring sessions. I utilise technology in my lessons, incorporating multimedia elements using a broad range of platforms to enhance learning, including YouTube, Google Classroom, Kahoot, Quizlet and Memrise to name a few. I also believe that travel and field trips immensely enrich learning and have run successful educational trips, programmes and exchanges for the past 20 years. If you require multiple sessions per week or tuition over a long period of time, I usually offer discounted rates. Please get in touch to discuss.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Italian
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


U.C.L.2014MastersM.A. Archaeology
Indiana University1997MastersM.A. Greek and Latin
York University, Toronto, Canada1994BachelorsB.A. Classics and Humanities
McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada1991BachelorsB.A. Philosophy

Antonio's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0