Anne

Bournemouth Tutor

I am a very experienced primary school teacher and have taught all ages from 4-12.I have lived and taught in Bournemouth for 26 years.I was a parent governor at my daughter's school and also very involved with school life whilst she was at grammar school.When not teaching I enjoy walking,cooking,reading,gardening and going to the theatre.
I have a current CRB check. (Criminal Records Bureau)

Tutoring Experience

My experience covers reception to Year 7.Vast experience in class and with individual pupils.
I have worked in local schools as a 1:1 tutor helping children in Year 6 prepare for the Year 6 tests in English and Maths.I have also tutored Year 5 children in the same school. I have prepared children for the 11+, last year I achieved a 100% pass rate.
I am up to date with the National Literacy and numeracy strategies.
For the last7 years I have marked the English papers for Years 6 nationally and this gives me a great insight into standards across the country.
The last couple of years I have tutored 4 children for the Grammar School tests and they all passed.
I thoroughly enjoy working with children and helping them to achieve their goals or overcome difficulties.I am patient,caring and understanding.
Most of my tutees come through me being highly recommended by other parents, this I feel a great honour.
Mark key stage 2 SAT's papers and single level tests.
Have been tutoring for several years now and keep up to date with the latest developments. At present I am working with children from Year 4 - 7 with English and Maths. I have also been helping children with the 11+ and all three that I helped this year passed the 11+.

Tutoring Approach

I can tutor at home or in the child's home which ever is required.
It is important to quickly build a caring, supportive rapport with the child and I find this easy to do.
Over the first few sessions I can build up a profile of the child's strengths and weaknesses and then work on specific targets.
I like to talk to the child and parent about where they envisage problems lie or help is needed.
I also like to talk to the parents at the end of the sessions so they can see what we have worked on and if necessary leave work for the child to do during the week.

Most of all teaching and learning should be fun and it is extremely satisfying to watch a child grow in confidence.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Winchester1986BachelorsCert Ed. B.Ed (Hons) 2:1
Salisbury1971ProfessionalSarum St Michael Salisbury. Cert Ed

Anne's Feedback

Feedback
5
Published feedback
5
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£25
English
Primary£25
Entrance Exams
Primary£26
Special Needs
Primary£25