Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


Private French and German Tuition in Chelmsford

Hello! Buongiorno! Servus! Bonjour! My name is Anna and I am an experienced and fully qualified German, Italian and English as a Foreign Language tutor with over 22 years’ teaching experience. I have a Masters in Foreign Languages (English, German and Italian) both from the University of Eichstätt (Bavaria, Germany) and the University of Bologna (Italy). I did my PGCE degree at Reading University, England. I am an ex Grammar School teacher and in the last 10 years I have also been a Cambridge University and Pearson German assessor and moderator. I have taught to students of different abilities in comprehensive schools and I have also taught Italian to adults for several years at local Adult Education Centres.

Tutoring Experience

I have taught (in grammar and comprehensive schools and adult education centres) and tutored many students of all ages and backgrounds ranging from business people, holiday makers, retired teachers to students starting learning these languages to GCSE/A Level exams and university entries.

Tutoring Approach

My approach to tutoring is friendly, relaxed and focused. I tailor my lessons around the students' individual needs and objectives and I always try to help my students develop their confidence and achieve their full potential. Furthermore, my aim is to make learning any of these three languages a rewarding, enjoyable and fun experience.
My teaching style is very varied and creative. I like to ask students questions to see if they know the answers, then give them strategies to try to work out the answers or expand their answers - if too short and simple - and finally guide them to think for themselves to become independent learners. With the introduction of the new GCSE, being able to think for yourself and develop critical thinking skills early is a real advantage. I have taught many GCSE and A-Level students and given them plenty of exam techniques and advice how to succeed. I also regularly provide guided revision sessions that are targeted to the texts or topics students request and all of my GCSE and A-Level students complete several past papers under test conditions and sit "mock exams" so that they exactly know what to expect in their real GCSE/A-Level exams.

I tutor in the daytime, afternoons and evenings. Demand has increased a lot recently and I am often fully-booked.
Lately, I have mainly taught online using Skype and lessons have been very rewarding and successful too. I can also teach from my home if necessary.
I also tutor home-schooled students and am happy to offer a special deal if you book multiple sessions a week with me or one month lessons in advance.

Please contact me to check availability.

LanguagesItalian, English (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


Katholische Universitaet Eichstaett (Bavaria)1997MastersMA in Modern Foreign Languages (German, Italian and English as a Foreign Language)
Universita' di Bologna (Italy)1998MastersMA in Modern Foreign Languages (German and English Literature)
University of Reading1999PGCEPGCE University course (German, Italian and French)

Anna's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references


Click here for more English (Foreign Language) tutors