Skip to main content

Information About Anisa - Birmingham tutor

Profile Picture

Anisa's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Anisa:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

Map Location

Map for Anisa

Personal Description:

I am a graduate in Mathematics BSc from the University of Wolverhampton. I will be starting my PGCE in September 2018 and will continue tutoring students alongside my studies. I have been tutoring students in mathematics since I graduated in 2016 and it is something I extremely enjoy. At the moment, I am a tutor at a centre in Sparkbrook, Tuition Masters. I am willing to travel to client’s home to teach them or I can teach them at my own. I am willing to travel anywhere in Birmingham and neighbouring areas such as: Solihull and Shirley. Any other areas can be discussed and appropriate travel arrangements can be made. I have always had a passion for maths as a subject; it was my favourite at school. Through my experiences I have come to realize that many students either struggle with maths or just do not like the subject at all. The reason behind this good be the standard of teaching, the student’s ability to keep up with the work or not being motivated enough to teach or to learn properly. This is what made me become a maths tutor. I think it’s good idea to have a tutor along the side ensuring that the student is absorbing and understanding the methods and steps required to solve mathematical problems.

Tutoring Experience:

I have just finished working as a learning support assistant, where I assisted and took control over two students learning; where one had dyspraxia and the other suffered from autism. Therefore, I am able to adapt my teaching techniques to the student’s needs, as I have taught students with varying abilities and learning difficulties. I have also worked as a maths cover supervisor, where I took on the role of a maths teacher and covered a maths teacher’s lessons for five weeks. During this time, I became familiar with the maths curriculum and know how to teach the new 9-1 GCSE very well. This year I have also started tutoring students in A-level maths, which I have enjoyed a lot. My long-term goal is to become an A-level mathematics teacher. I am a patient and caring individual and always adapt myself and my teaching to the student’s needs, rather than expecting the student to adapt to my teaching style.

Tutoring Approach:

I start by focusing on what the student’s weaknesses are. This is done by having a discussion with the student’s guardians about what aspect of maths they feel like the student needs practice on or by having a look at school reports and their assessment grades. Also, I feel like in some cases this may not help me much in assessing what the weakness are, so I have a discussion with the student and give them a small test. This highlights what their strong and weak points are. All this together gives me a better indication of what the student is struggling on, what grade they are currently at and what they need to do achieve a minimum grade C; if not higher. As well as working on the weaknesses, we also need to make sure that we are not forgetting how to work out the problems that we are good at and know how to do very well. I make sure that the students remain good at what they already know by giving them a few questions as part of their homework every week. This helps the student remember the method, as it keeps it fresh in their mind by having continuous practice. Mathematics is a very important subject and a minimum of a grade C is needed, if you are looking to carry on with your studies by going to college or university. Employers also want a grade C or above in maths, so it is vital that a student receives the right help as soon as possible, whether you are struggling a lot or just need a little help.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Wolverhampton (2016) - Mathetics BSc Third (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Moseley School (2011) - Mathematics Grade A (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Moseley School (2011) - English Literature Grade A (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Moseley School (2011) - English Language Grade B (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Birmingham Maths tutor, Birmingham Primary Maths tutor, Birmingham Secondary Maths tutor, Birmingham GCSE Maths tutor, Birmingham A-Level Maths tutor