Angela

Angela

Holland Park Tutor

I am a 28year-old female university graduate who holds a second class joint honours degree in politics & sociology. I would best describe myself as easygoing and reliable. I consider myself a good listener with excellent people and communication skills.

I currently live in Hammersmith, where I am employed as an English governess for a private family. Prior to this, I worked as a nanny in Astana, Kazakhstan and as a teacher in Moscow, Russia, for one year. Additionally, I have worked with dozens of families at home in the Glasgow area for several years, providing a variety of English, Politics and Modern Studies classes on a one-to-one basis. The vast majority of my experience in the UK consisted of preparing students for their Standard Grade/National 5 (GCSE) and Higher (A Level) academic exams, although I have also educated younger children in reading and writing skills and also university students on aspects of sociology and dissertation writing assistance.

I also lived in Australia for one year when I was younger, where I worked as a nanny for a couple of families whilst travelling for one year.

I am currently available to tutor in London on a Saturday and Sunday, and may be able to offer weeknights after 8:30pm if there is a degree of flexibility with this arrangement.

My personal interests include travel, photography and meeting new people.

Tutoring Experience

I have often been told I am fantastic at working with young people and already have experience of tutoring at a wide variety of levels.

I had primarily been working with GCSE students who are pleased with the progress they have made under my guidance. With my help, all have moved from obtaining a No Award or a C in their prelims to gaining an A and B marks in their actual exams. I have also worked with three A Level students, moving one student from a "No Award" to a "B" grade and the others from B to A grades.

I also tutor a Sociology student attending Leeds University via email where required, including marking and providing improvement suggestions for essays, advising on how to write conclusions and also overseeing the writing of a dissertation. This student went on to graduate with a 2:1 Honours degree.

I have worked with other university students in the past on the subjects of essay writing and exam preparation.

More recently I have been working with a child of 8 who has been struggling with reading. Tutoring in this instance has consisted of paired reading sessions combined with targeted word practice. This method has substantially improved the student's reading comprehension skills.

I am also TEFL qualified, which means I am qualified to teach English as a foreign language.

I can provide references where required.

Tutoring Approach

I believe a creative and relaxed approach to tutoring is best. I will be able and willing to tailor tutoring needs to the wishes or each individual and their parents.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Strathclyde2012BachelorsBA (Hons) Politics & Sociology
TEFL UK2013ProfessionalTEFL Certificate

Angela's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Angela
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
25% discount on your first lesson!
English
Primary£25
Secondary£40
GCSE£45
A-Level£45
Government and Politics
Secondary£40
GCSE£45
A-Level£45
Sociology
Secondary£40
GCSE£45
A-Level£45