Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468

Angela

Home Tuition for Maths in Ellesmere

I am a mum of three who are all grown up now.. I have two dogs who I like to walk and I also keep tropical and marine fish.
I always found Maths a challenge at school and was not fortunate enough to have a patient and understanding teacher until the last 2 years. I was made to feel useless and as a consequence began to think I actually was! Consequently I am very passionate about building confidence and self esteem of those who need extra help. My emphasis is on success, no matter how small it may seem, as from little acorns big oak trees can grow.

Tutoring Experience

I am a Higher Level Teaching Assistant (with a Maths Specialism) in the Maths Department of a Secondary school and work with all ages from Year 7 up to Year 11.
I have been teaching small groups, mainly at GCSE level (Foundation) for 11 years and privately tutoring for just over 9 years and have had many students achieve their goals during this time.

Tutoring Approach

I like to tutor in a very relaxed and friendly manner. There is no 'right' way to do anything and very often there are several routes to an answer. My emphasis is on finding the way that the tutee finds easiest to understand and then build on that. No house will stand up on wobbly foundations!
Most of the work done with GCSE tutees is done using an 'Example' note book for revision purposes and on exam style questions to get them used to the style and in tune with what the Exam boards look for in an answer.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Liverpool Excellence2010CollegeHigher Level Teaching Assistant
Open University2013BachelorsCertificate In Mathematics
Open University2013BachelorsCertificate in Higher Education of Natural Sciences
Liverpool Excellence Partnership2006CollegeLearning Mentor

Angela's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught