Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Andrew

Andrew

I am an experienced teacher and tutor. I am calm, patient, very clear with targets and have high expectations of myself and the students I work with. Because I have spent the last eleven years in a learning Support role, as well as teaching, my extensive teaching experience has been increased with much recent experience in 1:1 tuition/support. Over the last 8 years my students have had great success with hitting targets and exam results. My portfolio has expanded during these last 5 years to teaching adult students the Maths content needed for QTS exams for teaching courses and Nursing Numeracy exams. Last year, in the first year of the new spec for Maths GCSE, ALL my students achieved at least 2 grades higher than their school predicted grades. I am immensely proud of this achievement , in particular because many schools and students have struggled making the transition.

Tutoring Experience

35 years teaching experience at a variety of levels - from primary age up to degree level. My main teaching subjects have been Maths - GCSE: Economics, B Studies, Politics - A-Level and Vocational B/TEC awards - B/TEC First, Advanced etc , eg. B Studies, Sport, Travel/Tourism I have recently worked 1:1 with many students on a variety of GCSE, A-Level and Degree programmes eg Open Univ. - Child Development, UCLAN - Education. My main disability expertise is in the areas of Dyslexia and Autistic Spectrum disorders, eg Asperger Syndrome. I have 11 years experience teaching/supporting students with these disabilities, in a wide range of subjects including much success with planning and helping with coursework. As a Home Tutor I have 8 years experience teaching mainly Maths to all levels from KS2 through KS3, KS4 (GCSE's) and Adults.

Tutoring Approach

My approach is to start with what a student might know - using patient questioning to ascertain the knowledge and the knowledge gaps. This verbal questioning would be supported with written assessed work which I would give detailed feedback on by the next week. When presented with essay-type support, I make a lot of use of planning (structure/bullet points etc.) of essay answers. I would operate by designing a scheme of work as soon as possible after the first meeting, and trying to keep to it. At times, learners bring homework to my sessions, which is fine, but my priority is to help them answer the questions themselves by patient questioning, re-teaching and helping with planning of work. I am flexible according to student needs, and believe continuous dialogue/reporting to parents on progress is essential.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Various -a) UCLAN 2005 - Keele Uni 1977 - Nottingham Uni 19742005PGCEa) Post-Grad Dip - assessing disability requirements b) PGCE Sec/FE; c) BA Hons - Industrial Economics
Edge Hill University2002Professional Post Grad Cert - Special Needs: Autism.
University of Wales1991MastersMaster of Education:
Chester City Grammar School1970SchoolA -Level Economics (A), Gen Studies (A), Geography (B) - Literacy Core Curriculum; Numeracy Core Curriculum

Andrew's Feedback

Feedback
9
Published feedback
9
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Andrew
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism